mountain

My love towers above the earth from the ground up, solid and immovable, overlooking everyone but existing only for you.

It was not formed by erosion, all else slowly worn away until only it remained, like Grand Canyon walls; nor was it built by hand, laboured over stone by stone according to detailed plans, like grand castle walls.

Instead it appeared in a sudden, unexpected spectacle powered by nature’s most violent devices, those of eruption and upheaval. And just as the clashing of continents redraws borders and landscapes, so too did your forces render my world unrecognisable, with this mountain at the centre of it all.

It sits here still as if it always was, so what am I to do? For in all ways it is impossible to ignore, my every line of sight gently but surely interrupted by its scenery and shadows, its presence felt even when I close my eyes.

And in all ways it moves me, will spurred on towards its peak, legs energised by its air, and feet sinking into its earth.

You worried something made so tall so quickly could not long withstand collapse, but the years since passed into the past have proved you wrong. This mountain will not crumble until all around it also crumbles. Let it be our island amid life’s ever-rising seas.

Log in to write a note
March 14, 2020

Right on! 🙂

March 22, 2020

This is incredibly beautiful.

March 23, 2020

@i-am Thanks for all your appreciation, so glad you like my pieces 🙂

March 23, 2020

@messupit ❤❤❤