there will always be

The ripples of your wrinkles
lap at your lips when you smile –
waves on a sea of flesh that I
could never afford by the pound,
had I to pay what it’s worth to me;
but then, there will always be one to whom
we in time offer ourselves freely.

The breezes of your breaths
warm the air when you speak –
the treasure of an unlocked chest that I
do not believe would have been found
had I been searching for it;
but then, there will always be one by whom
we are sought if we wait long enough.

The shapes of your gestures
steal my vision when you move –
geometry so complex, unique that I
would barely believe it could be real,
had my eyes not already decided so;
but then, there will always be one in whom
a great surprise is finally found.

Log in to write a note
November 18, 2018

You really produce love. It was a “I want to feel this,”’sigh. Which I think, when it comes to poetry (or prose) is a recommendation.

November 18, 2018

@e3 Thank you so much… that really means a lot.

The previous one was started in a private entry in 2010, and I tackled it on and off for the last few months but I could not crack the formula for how to deliver the relatively simple content of the lines — finally it came to me the other day. This broke my writer’s block too.

This one here though was all inspiration. Yesterday I experienced a completely unexpected, precious moment with someone I used to (read: still do) care for a lot, and afterwards I thought to myself… I need to write, for surely if there’s no inspiration in this, there will never be. And it was true — I wrote this as quick as I have ever written anything, and with minimal editing. I was worried after I decided to have the first paragraph strictly mimicked by the following ones, but it somehow all fell into place.

Sorry, I digress! But I am really proud of this one — though will have to give it a few days and see if I still feel that way then X)

November 19, 2018

Oh yes. The internal rhyme, the sly alliteration, the repeated ending stanza theme…beautiful technique to express a beautiful emotion.

November 19, 2018

@mavis Thanks so much Mavis! Would have been hard to force this one I think… inspiration made it quick and easy.

Te
December 4, 2018

Thank you for all of the notes, it means a lot. I only write on prosebox these days. Matter of fact, I came here to deactivate my account.

Ever find yourself in those parts, my name there is the santa emoji. 😉

February 11, 2019

Ahoy

February 11, 2019

@fragilegirl Umm wow, hiya 🙂 I saw an email notification of your note, and it was quite a blast from the past (though it wasn’t terribly long ago, it seems much longer somehow…). Hope you’ve been well, and that you’ve managed to keep writing (you always had a talent).

February 15, 2019

@messupit I try to write. I’m glad we are in touch again.

February 15, 2019

@fragilegirl Yes me too… for some reason it’s just nice to know that certain people you used to know are out there somewhere, even if they are not a part of your life. If you have somewhere you are writing now, I’d love to read. If not or it’s too private, I really don’t mind either. Glad you’re around in any case 🙂 I basically lost track of your other social media accounts a long time ago (or they are long-since deleted). I always thought you wrote with passion and skill…

I’ve currently got writer’s block, after a really productive (for me) renewed period of writing inspired by the return of OD. Now all I have are lots of unfinished/barely-started pieces… guess I’ll break it eventually. Seem to have lost my “voice” after going to local spoken word events. I never had any other influences apart from music and fellow diarists, now I’ve confused myself as to how I should be writing. Just “Be yourself” is always the best advice I guess (though kinda unhelpful regarding the details).

I truly hope life is going well for you though…

Owi
May 13, 2019

Its brilliant as usual

May 13, 2019

@owi Oh too kind… you were always so supportive of my little blurts of poetry, and were part of the reason I continued to write as I did.