Week in the Knees

The week that was:

1. A kid missed the semester exam in my music appreciation class with the shingles and the death of his uncle. The counselor harassed his mother to get him to school to make up the test less than 24 hours after the funeral so she could run class ranks. Needless to say, he tanked the test, but I’m curving it – it’s the right thing to do.

2. Too many cooks spoil the soup. next Monday morning is the school-wide farewell to our outgoing principal. The vice-principal wants to have an aloha theme and have everyone dress in Hawaiian shirts – I don’t have one. The student council sponsor asked me on Thursday afternoon if the band could play Dixieland music, like the celebration after a New Orleans funeral. Naturally, my library doesn’t have any Dixieland, so I taught the kids two tunes by ear on Friday morning. I really don’t know about a Hawaiian/ Dixieland sending off party with a fifteen minute time limit. I do know the VP and StuCo sponsor didn’t do any joint planning. We’re too small a school to have such large communication issues.

3. Friday afternoon I took J to the doctor for the first sonogram! The baby was bouncing all over the place and the heartbeat was strong – I think this child is going to be a live wire.

4. I’m re-writing chapter one of the book and adding a introductory scene. I think it improves the flow. I also have too much narrative between some of the dialogue, so the rhythm is choppy. At least I’m noticing that and not an editor.

Log in to write a note

I’m glad you are curving the grade for the student. And I agree, dixieland and Hawaii?

January 30, 2010

Go ahead and bounce all over the place with the baby for joy! Such good news! RE: counselor. What kind of counselor would do that? Such uncharitable behavior is unconscionable! That family deserves an apology and the counselor to be reprimanded. When an employee reduces school to merely numbers, its time for the employee to get out of school!

January 31, 2010

Our counselors are like that, too. They made kids come in over Christmas break to make up finals just so a couple seniors could have accurate class ranks for scholarships or admissions to college.

February 2, 2010

thanks 🙂

February 7, 2010

you are a good person for doing that for him. you have no idea how much we students appreciate that from our professors; things like that stay with us forever. ryn: thanks! i was very proud of it, and he loves it.

February 10, 2010

you have the longhorns in your interests; do you teach in the UT system? (i only ask because i recently graduated from utaustin, and it’s always interesting to find people who live in the same area on a site as big as od.)