Merry Christmas

I’m also going through a period of grief which is causing me to become even more sensitive to rejection. I just lost my 90 year old father and step mom in August.  They were both in hospice and I was their primary caregiver. Today is the first Christmas holiday without them.

I have trouble reaching out to folks. We’re having family over for Christmas, but I don’t want to get people down, so I will try my best to celebrate this holiday season with family. I’m counting my blessings. My twin daughters are home from college. My other children will visit for the holidays too. And I’ll keep my granddaughters for a few days after Christmas.  I have to enjoy the moment and the people in my life.

I’ll still miss you Dad! Rest in peace!! 🙏🏼

 

PS: I lost my youngest son to kidney cancer a few years ago. It has been 8 years, but it still seems like yesterday. I miss you son! Take care and God bless.

Log in to write a note
December 24, 2022

Your entry was well spoken regarding grief during the holidays. Looking around the holiday gatherings and noticing our missing loved ones can really bring the grief into focus. Tender hugs to you and your family while processing through the holidays. Much love to you. <3

December 25, 2022

@celestialflutter Thank you for the kind words. It feels good that I’m not alone.