Verbal Abuse is Abuse

Verbal Abuse is not okay.  It’s not okay to call someone stupid, fat, ugly, selfish, a cunt, dumb, a hussy, a fluesey, etc…  It’s just not right.  Those are the words my husband had called me on a daily basis.

I would cry because my feelings have been hurt so bad, and he would tell me to stop acting like a baby.  Crying is for babies…

I would not respond that I loved him back, and I was in a world of shit.  I would be in trouble if I didn’t text him first thing in the morning when I got to that I loved him, I would get in trouble because I ran out of time getting errands done before I had to go to work and didn’t get the rest done.

I was called lazy because the house wasn’t cleaned in a pristine condition.  I was in trouble for not dishing up his plate first.  I was a bad mom for not giving our child a bath every single night.  I was also a piece of shit when I’m sick in bed with a fever and I called into work, and tell me I had no work ethic.

I’m a survivor… I left his ass… I knew I was better than that.  I was a good Mom, a friend, and a lover.  I was a hard working Mom that works two jobs due to his compulsive buying of expensive things.  I made Christmas happen every year for the kids.

I’m not fat… I’m very thing, 5’7 130 pounds.  I’m not ugly, I have guys giving me attention all the time, I’m not stupid… Actually pretty smart…  I work well at my job, people love my attitude, and they just love the way I carry myself.  I am not a whore, I had no intentions cheating on my husband (which I should have but I have morals LOL).

We have separated, I am so much happier now… I can think for myself, I can work at my own pace, I get things done, we have split custody of our 4 year old girl.  He is a great Dad to her, but he just has some serious issues.  He has been seeking self help guidance with his phycologist, and it seems that he has improved 95% with the right medications, and counseling sessions.  But I’m not going back.  I can’t.  I don’t love him anymore.  It may seem harsh, but I don’t.  He broke my heart on several occasions, I literally became numb.

I can see my family with out guilt hanging over my shoulders.  I can go on business trips and not get called 20 times a day with him asking what I was doing and who I was with whether they were a guy or a girl?  Really???

He took all of his insecurities and pushed them out onto me.  I regret marrying him.  I never thought it would get that bad.

But I’m happier…  I just want to be happy.  I have no interest in any men, I just want to do my thing and live my life and raise my kids.  That’s all I want to do.  Bust ass, work hard, and be a good Mom.

 

Log in to write a note
October 18, 2020

I always regret saying too much to people…especially a drinking environment. I decided to not drink strong alcohol anymore, this is one of the reasons. My dad is a kind man, but he is very strait in his words, I guess his scientist’s background finds words to be concise and short. I struggled the experience and now I feel like I’m doing to others…I want to have more patience to just listen and accept to other opinions.
I’m glad to hear that you are free from the period, your post reminds me people suffer from verbal abuse. I need to tell myself as much as I can.