At War With Cancer Part 2: Treatment Round One

Welcome back, to those of you who are following my story. And now, part 2. I call this Treatment Round One.

 

After the shock and absolute devastation of my diagnosis, my treatment began. I was told chemotherapy and radiation were going to be my best treatment option.

It started with me going to the hospital for a minor procedure, placement of my port. A port is a small device that gets sewn just under the skin in your chest. That is how the chemotherapy medications are given. Needless to say, I was terrified of getting my port, because it is a direct line to your heart. Now I must beware of the slightest infection.

My port was placed on a Friday and I was due to start treatment that Monday. Now that was a looooong weekend! Bright and early Monday morning I showed up to my cancer center. The first thing we had to do was infuse my Mytomicin chemo. I had to stay at the cancer center for 2 hours for that. However, that wasn’t all! I also had to go home with a pouch of chemo. This was flourorocil, or 5fu. I wore this chemo in a pouch nonstop for 96 hours! Try sleeping with a continuous clicking! That was new. Along with this, I had a 15 minute round of radiation every morning, Monday through Friday. The first two weeks weren’t so bad, but this soon became the most excruciating pain I had ever felt!! You lie on a table, nude from the waist down, while this huge machine circles your body and injects you with radiation.

I had to have one more infusion of Mytomicin along with another 96 hours of 5fu during the last week of my radiation. Thus, my battle truly began. This was my first battle in my war on cancer.

 

Stay tuned… tomorrow’s entry will be more on chemo and radiation treatment along with side and after effects. Thanks for staying with me!

Log in to write a note
January 8, 2022

I pray you are healed from your cancer and become a survivor. And keeping that port clean… they mean it. Do NOT slack in any way. I am about to lose the woman who was my mom’s best friend because she got an infection in her port. She is now on life support in septic shock. They aren’t sure that she’ll even make it through the night.

January 8, 2022

@caria I’m so sorry to hear that! I hope she recovers and feels great! Thanks for the kind words and for reading!

January 8, 2022

@mom2justus Thank you. Unfortunately, she passed this morning. She never regained consciousness, and went peacefully, but we are still devastated.

January 8, 2022

@caria I am so sorry to hear that! I will pray you and your family find peace as well! Hang in there hun!

January 8, 2022

What a nightmare. My mom has stage 4 ovarian, diagnosed 2020 just before the world came apart at the seams. She only had chemo, no radiation. I do hope the treatments work for you!

January 8, 2022

@ostara awww that’s awful! I’m so sorry! It’s been a nightmare to navigate my cancer post Covid. I don’t know if it’s a blessing or a curse that I had the support before hand. Everything was different when my family could come to chemo with me and my doctors and nurses seemed so much nicer back then. Thank you for reaching out and I sure hope your mom recovers as well! Ovarian cancer can be beaten! Stay strong hun!

January 11, 2022

@mom2justus You’re so lucky you have support in place! I’m sure your doctors and nurses are overwhelmed, it seems like every time we turn around, not only is therefore Covid, there seems to be a surge in cancer diagnoses as well. It’s crazy!

Mom has been clean since her chemo, we hope it stays that way for a while. Have you finished treatments? You hang in there too!!

January 11, 2022

@ostara thanks so much! I actually haven’t finished treatment yet, but I know I will someday… Great news for your mom too!