At War With Cancer Part 3: Radiation, Chemo and the Aftermath

I’m so sorry to be so late! My intention was to write every day, but I forget sometimes the way cancer interferes! Anyway, I’m back so let’s start Part 3.

 

When doctors and people tell you that chemo and radiation will kill your cancer, your thoughts are “that’s what we have to do” and “let’s kick cancers ass!”. No one tells you the awful truth about what you are going to endure. Then, when someone finally decides you’re ready to know, no information anyone gives you will ever compare to the absolutely horrendous time you have coming.

If you haven’t been reading before now, I started chemo and radiation to fight my cancer in April of 2019. I didn’t know it at the time, but I was blessed to be getting treatment before it got terribly hot outside. My treatment ended June 6th, so I missed the really hot heat.

When I went in for my first day, you would’ve thought I was going to some great party! I had my “kick cancers ass” attitude on, a smile on my face, and I was filled with complete determination! That actually lasted for the first 2 weeks or so. I started to get used to the sound and weight of my chemo pump. Radiation didn’t take very long. Best of all, I was meeting all of these absolutely wonderful nurses, doctors, and radiation techs! Everyone treated me like I was special, and I must say, it was quite nice. Then week 3 of my treatment started…

Overnight, it felt like everything changed. The upside was I didn’t have to wear the pump again for 3 more weeks. Downside? I have never experienced anything so excruciating! The radiation was burning me, both inside and out! My skin turned red and purple and I had enormous blisters! I could no longer sit down. Going to the restroom felt like someone stabbing me over and over. I had to start wearing Depends, and I was 37 years old! By week 6, my family were literally dragging me to radiation to get my last week of treatment. My restroom issues got so bad, I had to go to the hospital more than once. Those issues lasted 2 years!

My burns finally started to lessen about 3 weeks after treatment was over. For a month, I laid in my bed nude with a fan pointed directly at me. I was so happy though because it was over. Now I wanted to be on my way to recovery!

On July 9th, I had my first ever CT Scan that showed no evidence of disease! That was one of the best days of my life. I thought, “I actually made it through that grueling treatment and it was worth it, because I’m cancer free!”…

 

However, my war with cancer has continued. Sadly, that wonderful day wouldn’t last long and cancer wasn’t through with me yet…

 

 

Well, that’s all for Part 3. Next up, New Diagnosis and finishing out 2019. I hope to be back tomorrow and promise to do my best! In the meantime, thanks for reading and stay healthy!

Log in to write a note
January 11, 2022

Thank  you for sharing your experiences with us, here. I wish you healing and good health.

January 12, 2022

You fight the good fight girl, keep it up!! 💜

January 17, 2022

You got this!!!