At War With Cancer: Part 5 My Life Will Never Be The Same

Ok I’m back and now it’s time for the hardest part of my war so far.

 

So I left off with half of my vagina missing. You can imagine how devastating that must have been; and it was!

In February, once again I had another tumor. This one grew incredibly fast! Dr. M wanted to do another surgery. However, he needed Plastics and Reconstruction to get involved this time. By the time I had my surgery in July, my tumor was the size of a 50 cent piece! So far they had all been about the size of a dime, so this one scared me!

On July 15th, 2020 I was admitted to the hospital. My surgery this time would include 3 surgeons: Dr. L, my colorectal surgeon, Dr. M and Dr. E, Plastics and reconstruction. Dr. L gave me a loop ileostomy. That is so I can no longer go Number 2. I wear a bag on my upper stomach for that. This was because of what Dr. M was going to do. He removed all my vaginal tissue. I mean all of it! There was nothing remaining down there! Plastics then came in and cut a 12″ by 4″ strip from my stomach to ‘recreate’ some sort of vagina.

Have you ever met someone who changed your life? I have. Dr. E. He truly became my friend and the man who saved my life. After my surgeries, which took place over 1 week, I became septic. I caught some bug in the hospital and it nearly cost my life. In fact, I died twice and Dr. E brought me back. Over the next week, I needed 3 more surgeries. I don’t remember this time at all. I know I was in ICU, but I remember nothing else. I lost 80 lbs and looked nothing like myself. The next thing I remember is Dr. E nearly in tears saying he was glad I was back. He said he’d never been so scared. I should tell you, he’s a very young doctor. No older than 40. I was the first patient he’d ever lost.

After the surgeries, I was so weak that I could no longer walk. I stayed in the hospital until the end of August and was then transferred to a rehabilitation facility. I actually celebrated my 39th birthday there. I had amazing nurses and Dr. E came to encourage me every day that I was in the hospital. Of course, this was during the Covid-19 lockdown. My then 14 year old daughter was not allowed to come and see me. That had to be the hardest part. Until then, I had only spent 2 days apart from her her whole life! And yet, somehow I made it through. I never thought I would, but here I am!

 

So that’s my surgery story. Of course I’m still battling cancer, so this isn’t the end, unfortunately. But I will break here. Be back soon and thanks again for all the support and for following my story!

 

Log in to write a note
January 20, 2022

Hey there Warrior. Those surgeries sound so intense. What helped you get through it?

January 20, 2022

You are incredible and so is Dr. E.!

January 30, 2022

I cannot imagine how painful that surgery was for you.  It sounds so invasive.  It must have been so so hard not getting to see your 14 year old for so long.  I’m happy you made it through all that.  I haven’t read all your previous entries but am going to.