Quick update

in January of 2014 I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s. I retired from contracting in December of 2014. My focus is on enjoying life. My granddaughter and I go to Disneyland every year. This is our 8th year. This one will be more challenging. I hurt my hip in December and still have trouble walking. The plan is to use wheelchairs in the airport and scooters at Disney.

We still go to Crested Butte, CO every year. Now Brian, my stepson, does  the driving. Madilyn has gone every year since she was 6 months old. Nicole’s ashes are at the top of the mountain. Such a beautiful, peaceful place. We all love it.

These are two of the highlights of my year. Parkinson’s is progressing, but I just adjust and carry on.

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2018

How special that you and your granddaughter go to Disneyland every year.  Is this the Disneyland in Anaheim?   My older sister Kim use to love going to Disneyland.  When she was too ill to walk, she rode on a scooter.  It worked really well for her and it’s because of that scooter that she was still able to go to Disneyland.

April 3, 2018

Yes.  We go to Disneyland in Anaheim. We stay directly across the street from the shuttle drop off. They have scooters available in the lobby. Because of my Parkinson’s we can get a handicap pass that prevents standing in line. I think it will work out.

April 4, 2018

The trips with your granddaughter sound like so much fun.  I’ve realized when we do something like that, we are making memories that will last for their lifetime:)