Sick child, costly superpowers, and more

The Child has an infection of some sort. 105.3 fever a couple of nights ago, and I almost panicked myself to death. I did have the presence of mind to call the doctor before calling 911, and they told me to bring her in the next morning, and only to worry if it climbed to 106. So we loaded her up with ibuprofen and Tylenol, she slept like a rock all night, and was much better in the morning (though still very hot).

I took her in, chatted with her on the way about how the doctor would have to look in her eyes and ears and mouth, and listen to her chest and back, but that he was her friend, and he was trying to figure out what was making her sick. On the way in, she was chattering away at me, and said, “We’re going to the doctor to get sick!” No amount of correction would dispel that notion. Sigh.

She was her usual shy self at first, but the first nurse to wave at her, she turned the charm on. I wish I could make nurses and doctors and other highly educated people fawn over me just by touching my hairdo and declaring, “This is Naomi’s pigtail!”

She is most likely fine, though we have to wait on some cultures to be sure. They put her on antibiotics, which is super awesome because she refuses yogurt. Sometimes she’ll drink it in smoothie form, if we’re lucky. So, I have to get to the store sometime today to pick up some probiotics. Yaay.

Jeremy and I have recently been thinking of awesome superpowers at a price. Like, if you had Fire Hands, but you had to scream constantly whenever your turned your power on.

We play too many video games, I think.

Also, Little Golden Books. I like them because they don’t usually have A Message. They’re just cute little stories. But I like to give them A Message. For instance, The Poky Little Puppy.

Synopsis:

Five puppies keep digging under the fence and are gone all day, exploring and doing little puppy things. They keep getting home in time for supper, but their mother sends them straight to bed because they dug a hole under the fence. The Poky Little Puppy is a dawdler, so he gets home after everyone is asleep and eats up all the dessert. The third time this happens, his brothers fill up the hole under the fence instead of just going to bed, and their mother rewards them by giving them the dessert. The Poky Little Puppy has to squeeze in through a slat in the fence, and goes to bed with nothing to eat.

Moral of the story:

If you break the rules, more often than not, you’ll get a family-sized portion of dessert.

Or The Shy Little Kitten. Synopsis:

A shy little kitten wanders off by herself her first day out of the barn, meets new people, and eventually wanders back to the farmyard, where her mother gives her a bath, and they all go on a picnic.

Moral of the story:

If you wander away from your house, be sure to talk to strangers, go on long walks until you get lost, but be home in time to get a bath and some delicious food.

Also, I would like to know what the parents are doing in these stories. If my kids were consistently destroying property, I’d probably do more than just withhold supper, you know?

OD likes to mess with the friends settings on some of my entries. OD also likes to kick people off my friends list. Please tell me if you think that has happened to you.

follow MrsJWine at http://twitter.com
I wrote some things. Please to check them out.
Baby! (Favorites only now)
People I Talk About
If you ever want to email me, send it to [my name on OD] at opendiary dot com.

Log in to write a note
May 24, 2011

I hope she feels better soon. I also hope you don’t get it. And Jeremy. The morality/logicality of kids’ books and tv has stumped me for years. I used to watch a lot of it when I came in at stupid o’clock in the morning after working in bars. some of it is plan disturbing, and other things make you wonder how on earth it will make the child think the world works. I know these days, it’s all heavily screened over and considered by a panel of PC education experts so there must be some thinking behind it all.

May 24, 2011

There are some kiddy books that I refuse to read, because I’d be too tempted to re-moralize them. Cat in the Hat? Yeah, when your mother goes away, and leaves you in charge, let a smooth talking stranger into the house to destroy things while she’s gone. Go, Dog. Go!? Pick on other people’s fashion choices, and they’ll change until they invite you to a party in a tree-top.

May 24, 2011

The ponytail thing cracked me up! Hope she is feeling better soon!

May 24, 2011

Oh my gawd, your synopsis of the Little Golden Books is dead on. I loves it! 🙂 Hope Grace is feeling better–sounds like she is. It’s amazing how they can be so (relatively) unfazed by high fevers.

May 24, 2011

I hope she feels better soon! Kids books are weird like that. So are kids shows. I want to know what Dora’s parents are thinking. Seriously! They let their preschool daughter go wandering all over the effing place with a preschool MONKEY for company.

May 24, 2011

When my stepdad was a kid one day his mom made pudding for dessert. He refused his dinner (or veggies or something) so she said he couldn’t have dessert. He declared he was running away. Back in the 50s parents said, “Well we will miss you and we hope you come back soon!” and let them go b/c kids never go far and it was safe. So Randy loaded up his suitcase and walked out the door. When he decided

May 24, 2011

he’d had enough and went home his parents asked him where he went. He told them he went to the end of the street. “That’s all?!” He said, “Mom, you know I’m not allowed to cross the street!” To make the story better, after Randy had been sent to his bed his mom unpacked his suitcase and found the bowl of Jello pudding.

May 24, 2011

I have a copy of Little Black Sambo. It was my grammas. It’s a trip.

May 24, 2011

I HATE HATE HATE “Love You Forever”. HATE. IT.

May 24, 2011

i tried to write a kid’s story once, but i focused too much on the moral. It was a bit of an ode to the Lorax. The Wallygaggles lived in a forest and decided arguments by playing hide and seek, but one day they realize there aren’t very many trees anymore because careless Noombles have been chopping them down. moral: for every tree you take plant two more.

May 25, 2011

RYN: You’re right, it wasn’t too bad, it’s just the loneliness! 🙂

May 27, 2011

I just finished a really cute kids book called Captain Nobody and it has some fantastic ideas for super powers. I’ll have to look them up for you.

June 13, 2011

ryn: Noooooooooooo, you didn’t say a thing wrong at ALL! I just noticed that I saved that entry twice, and the second one didn’t have any edits, so I deleted that entire entry. Wish the notes could have stayed, though 😉

June 15, 2011

You need to update. For a second I thought your daughter was sick again ;). Thank goodness she’s not! RYN: Today she took the clean diapers, still warm from the dryer, and put them in with the dirty clothes *palm to forehead*. At least she’s helping!