Journal entry 3 – Island Treasure

.

Underneath the ocean breeze,

mysteries and answers

Spiral shells, dried up leaves,

branches, and coral antlers..

.

Coconuts and broken tiles

soaking up the suns bright smile..

.

Here are some findings,

small treasures hiding

on this little island..

.

 

Last weekend my sister got married in Islamorada – a group of islands in the Florida Keys. I told a friend I’d be out of town for a few days and she asked me to bring her back a leaf or some other little memento.

I love that sort of thing.

It was a beautiful wedding and it give me a chance to take a pause from “normal day life.” It was only the second time I saw my family this entire year.. this crazy, strange ass year of 2020.

I’m so happy for my sister – the first of us siblings to get married. Hopefully not the last – we shall see.

Initially, she was trying to get us together to celebrate her birthday, but seeing as how this year has been so nuts and unexpected and how hard it’s been to get our family together these past years – the wedding announcement was very last minute with only one weeks notice.

I’m glad I was able to make time. She told me she would postpone it and didn’t want to have a wedding if i wasn’t going to be there.

It was a very low key, casual wedding – my sisters thrifty and hippy nature, I’m sure, wouldn’t have had it any other way – but it didn’t take away from the beauty of it at all. I think it only added to it.

An island wedding at sunrise. Breakfast in the rain. “Wake and Wedd.” I can’t wait to see all the photos.

I’m glad my friend asked me to bring her back a little piece of the island and of that weekend. She’s a very thoughtful person – which I love. It allowed me a chance to focus in on certain details which i might have otherwise overlooked. She’s someone who believes strongly in the power of objects and the meaning behind things. It’s endearing.

I’d have to say, one of my fondest memories of that weekend was when I asked my seven year old nephew, after he’d been complaining of boredom that first rainy night, if he wanted to go outside “adventuring” with me.

“Adventuring? Okay, tio Johnny!” he said with excitement.

So, my nephew, brother, and I grabbed our jackets and some flashlights and walked around the small section of the island we were staying in. There was a light drizzle and it was extremely dark since there weren’t any street lights anywhere in sight. My nephew was slightly frightened being outside in the dark at night, somewhere unfamiliar, but when I told him that we were treasure hunting he was excited and less scared. I sometimes wish I had more companions when I was his age – someone to take me adventuring. I was always a very lonely kid, keeping to myself, looking for small ways to stay amused.

Always felt isolated – like an island – even when I wasn’t alone.

Hundreds of miles east of us, in the gulf of Mexico, hurricane Delta was beginning to form, which is now pounding southern Louisiana. But for us, on that night, we enjoyed the wind and rain it gave us. I mean, what’s adventuring without the forces of nature all around you?

We began finding shells, fossilized coral and small broken ceramics scattered on the ground. How long had they been there?

Buried treasure – At least to me.

We collected as many of these random and colored ceramics we could find by flashlight and moonlight. Then afterwards, when the rain became heavier, we went back home and tried to fit some of the pieces together. My nephew really enjoyed that.

What the origin of these broken ceramics are, I have no idea, but it doesn’t really matter. I know what the significance is to me – just like that entire weekend – a moment to slow down and appreciate nature, my environment, and people I love.

From one thoughtful person to another – I hope you appreciate the memento.

Cuidate.

Log in to write a note
October 11, 2020

I do appreciate it. This entry is a work of art… loving details… I am grateful.

October 13, 2020

Oh my goodness, I LOVE little nature treasures. Whenever I’m out in the woods, I always have to bring something home.

February 8, 2021

Grazie, Tio.

Hope can be hard sought or easily found in the smallest of spaces; thanks for saving this space for me, too.
Cheers-