What’s your outside of center act?

 

(this is a bit disjointed but …a related meandering)

…Are we not the standard for everything?

If it were me I’d….

I  think

I want

I can or can’t …will or won’t

In my opinion…

It is all about

I

me

the relative nature of what is valued by each ….

is based on a standard each creates

or is based on the readjustment of a standard that already  exsists…

The chewey candy middle…the center…me

the nucleus.

Even  in quest of the higher self

we will admit that giving up the I…the center of the universe

allows "I" to become one with it….

not  merely I  but you and we Us them and they…merge

a Larger…more self

still

me.

That is why philosphys and actions that go beyond our centers move us …speakes to the nobility of spirit.

When someone is motivated to do something far from their center… the impact vibrates throughout  mankind

It evolves us in a way or maybe affrims us (reminds us of who we really are or can be)

…These are my thoughts as I reflected on that show …"what would you do?"  It comes on ABC. They set up  situations

in real settings and tape how ordinary people respond when presented with some ethical conflict 

I am so proud to be human

…with all of our quirks and differences and opinions and feelings and likes and dislikes

…..even  thoes who behave badly are redeemed by our most noble.

One of my favorites recently allowed people to post their secrets…was soo great to read….well I’d like  to know your

most selfless act…your act of unwarranted kindness…(not for/to your loved ones or a good friend)

your outside of center.

No signed notes….

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I give freely to strangers

I write letters on behalf of others (co-workers usually or their family members) – letters of petition or complaint or redress – all sorts of letters.

I go to the goodwill or second hand store and leave 20.00 with a note that says “hope this helps” inside a pair of kids shoes. Still about me feeling good. I don’t know how you move beyond you. real acts of kindness bless both the giver and receiver.

I have not but have decided I want to help. I am going to contact my local mission and see how I can contribute food. If I can provide one meal a month to my local homeless… just one.

And I write thank you notes. And I look into people’s eyes when I speak to them.

I suppose for me it’s doing little things, like letting someone with less items in their grocery cart go before me, when I’ve got maybe even only as much as 2 more items than they do.. It’s about giving everyone else the go-ahead at a four way stop.. letting someone cross the crosswalk, and making oncoming traffic stop so they can continue across.. It’s a bunch of little things, I suppose

This is difficult, not a friend or relative… I lived for over 20 years near a small town where everyone knew everyone else, almost. I guess when the wildfire came through and 30+ homes were lost…I drove miles into the back country just to talk to people who lost everything, bring them a bag of groceries, hold their hands and cry with them…

December 6, 2009

beautiful entry. Thank you for encouraging this. The world needs more people like these anonymous good deed doers.