אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 42

Last night’s Jewish Studies left me a lil gobsmacked. Often I felt myself torn in trying to make sense of what I thought was possibly true once and realizing that what the Rabbi was saying made sense and left me wondering why the rest of the world is so convinced that what they believe is the actual truth.

I have always known that Jews don’t believe that Jesus is the son of God and I never questioned why that is so. I just accepted that that was what it was and so be it. I mean even when I tried to accept Christianity I could never get my head around that just by believing in Jesus made it alright for someone to continue to be evil and just accept that their sins would be forgiven. I further found it strange that every human was born with sin.

In Judaism, there are 4 things that describe The Messiah and Jesus is none of those.

  1. Comes from the House of David
  2. Born in Bethlehem
  3. Will rebuild the Temple
  4. Will Stop the Oppression of The Chosen Ones and Will Bring Divine Peace

Last night while the Rabbi spoke to us he pointed out that yes Jesus was born in Born in Bethlehem but he is regarded as the King of Nazareth. He never came from the House of David . The Jews were oppressed many times after his death. The 3rd Temple has not been built.

He went on to tell us about the many false individuals who have claimed to be The Messiah. He even mentioned one that died not too long ago…well in 1994. Menachem Mendel Schneerson, a Russian-Empire Born American Orthodox Rabbi. Okay, just did a little google of him and it seems as if he as done some valuable work and left a legacy, but he is and was no Messiah.

 

Log in to write a note