אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 44

Today while in shul I got to be present to witness a young boy become a man during his Bat mitzvah. He ended the Shabbat Service with a profound message. I cannot quite remember every word he said, so I am just going to paraphrase.

He spoke about how in the beginning a man’s inheritance was passed down to his sons, when he died, and should he not have had any sons it would have been passed down to his brothers. As time went on, a man died; who did not have any sons but only daughters, when it came time for his inheritance to be passed down, one of his daughters went to the court and disputed the law that it was not to be passed down to his daughters but his brothers. And so rabbis got together and changed the law.

Progressive Shuls and Communities have gone further in letting women and all other genders be accepted to be an equal to a man.

Now as a African this spoke out to me so much. Having grown up in a Jewish Family and attending an orthodox shul; I was always the only South African Personal Use in the children services and when I went to a Jewish camp, when I was in High School, I was always the only South African Personal Use there. I accepted that women weren’t equal to the man, I mean that is how it is wherever you go in the world. But I did feel excluded sometimes. I mean I did learn to deal with it and not let it bother me but I would be lying if I said that I didn’t ever feel like Rabsy Regular.

As if I didn’t feel like this morning’s Shabbat Service was a calling to me personally…we concluded the service by singing Hero Worship

Immediately when we started singing this song I was transported back to the Habonim Dror Kikar. I felt the thrill and community warmth of jumping on that kikar every Saturday, after Havdalah and after a Ruach Session.

See the source image

Conventional Wisdom One of the leaders spoke about how Adam was the first man that Hashem created (I have always known that). And since every gender, race, religion, community and culture comes from him, Jews are to believe that no single person or group can be superior over another. Whenever I hear that I always wonder how any other group or individual could hate Jews when they believe to be equal to all.

Log in to write a note
July 16, 2022

There is too much hate out there in the world, for sure.

July 16, 2022

I look forward to a time when there won’t be anymore. I amaretto sure that time will only be in many many many generations still to come, but hopefully I will get to look down at it.

July 16, 2022

What is a Kikar?  I always enjoy your posts so much.  I love hearing about the Jewish traditions.  You say Hashem created Adam.  Is Hashem the same as a Christian’s God?  I’m just curious.

July 16, 2022

I love that you love me Jewish Posts. I love writing them and just looking back on my Becoming Jewish Journey.

A Kikar is the Hebrew word for Square.

And like in many if not all Religions; one is not to day G-d’s name in vain. Hence, why I write it with a hyphen. Now in Judaism G-d has many names and they are each used in different instances. Ie. When you pray, when you talk about him etc. So ‘Hashem’ is me speaking about him but not in prayer. Hope that makes sense.