אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl pg 6

Last night he joined me. My husband sat with me and listened in on the Jewish Studies of last night. He actually took it on and really enjoyed it.

Just like every other lesson we start off with an hour of Hebrew. Boy is it getting harder. For the first 20 min or so we go around asking each other…

 

DELUXES BOLD… מה שלומך…ma shlomech

and a few other Hebrew greetings.

 

Yesterday I told my sister how speaking Hebrew is much easier than reading it…and even though I haven’t mastered the language and it will be awhile until I do, I do look forward to the day when I can speak it naturally.

The Rabbi told us last night how in general Jews love to pray for everything that happens…may that be for a meal, for the week…for the day of rest…for healing…for the home…for waking up in the morning…for being able to get into bed to sleep at night…for asking to be blessed when taking journeys…and many more

See the source image See the source image

 

The holiest of prayers, that I have known pretty much my whole life is the Shema….

See the source image

On many occasions I have recited the Shema…Jewish Holidays, Shabbat, Funerals.

I will never forget how during prayers for my mother, my father and uncle (mother’s brother) would say the Shema. I remember standing in the house, facing Jerusalem and crying inside every time I said that prayer.

While getting dressed this morning I was thinking what I could wear in preparation for Shul tonight…and I realized that the few dresses, I have are in the wash….so tonight I am going to have to go against what I said before about wearing skirts/dresses for Shul. I mean this is no excuse. But I am glad that Progressive Judaism accepts the times that we are in and how people have evolved. I still feel bad for not wearing a skirt/dress today and I do plan on updating my cupboard so I have more options for Shabbat and every other day in general too.

In class last night a fellow student said how last week at her home they celebrated Shabbat. Lit the candles, said the Bracha…she got to celebrate Shabbat with her husband and her parents. I miss that. I look forward to the days when my home will be full for Shabbat. But Rome wasn’t built in a day so I know it will happen eventually.

Log in to write a note