Judgement Day!

Just had my KPI. There is nothing in this world that I hate more than having to judge myself and listening to people talk about me. Dream Bear it was on ‘Teams” , so everyone was just some Meme or Emoji or just Blank…I was the only one with the Video/Camera on.

Okay so, it wasn’t that bad….and there are things that I hate much more, but I really don’t like talking about myself.

I have always thought of myself as being pretty good at my job and thinking that I deserve to be in a better position and there is  another job…which is better…out there for me.

But today I learned that the job that I have is really good, and that I have just been too comfortable and lazy to better myself at it.

So in total I got Wicked Dream for my KPI. Now for some that might be good, but for me it is just average and I can push myself to do better and be better.

Up until today I think I have always just being okay with doing enough to be thinking I was doing amazing, but I guess there is more I can do, to actually be regarded as Dream Heart - Personal Use

Dream Heart - Personal Use

My emails are sweet and when I call vendors I am nice to them and let them get by when they make mistakes or keep me waiting for quotes or orders. Often my boss has gone on about how I need to be hard with people and demand proper service. I always thought that I get great service from them and because I want them to be on my side when I make mistakes or need extra help…and of course I don’t like being mean, I just let things go (late quotes/orders, delayed responses). I guess me doing this has resulted in me getting 2 out 5…I gave myself a 4 out of 5.

Wicked Dream

My end goal for the perfect job was to be an accountant but life dealt me a different hand in life so I am an IT Office and Sales Administrator. I have always known this wasn’t my ideal job, and it was just a way for me to earn an income so I can pay my bills and put food in my stomach. But since I have been in the same job for a lil over 6 years and with the way the job market is going in South Africa, unless I wake up with a Degree and 4 years experience, I don’t see myself getting another job.

So I have made a change in my work life and my HR has helped a lil… Wicked Dream So she started with us sometime last year and I never took to her at all. But for some odd reason in the past few weeks she has become really nice. I always thought of her as a suck up to the boss and just two faced with the employees. I mean I still do think that, but she has been pushing for me to get a raise and has taken some real interest in me personally….and during my KPI she was pushing for me to get more points and she was really rallying for me sometimes….I am still not her Dream Meadow but I like her a lil more now.

Anyway so…I have decided to use my Outlook Calendar for more than just the odd reminder here and there, and I have scheduled my day.

I will start off the work day with my regular checks

Freshman

Wallflower

Freshman

Wallflower

I have been doing the same thing for so long, that it is just routine. I need to document it and store it so others know what to do, when they have to do what I do, and also I tend to forget things that I don’t do often so I ask the same things over and over again…well if I stuck to the processes which are stored on SharePoint, I would know what to do and eventually it too would become routine and also things in IT change all the time, so I should update processes.

Wallflower

My job offers links and courses in IT for all the staff. I mean it is no Degree or Professional Certification, and it isn’t what I thought I would be doing so I never did much of the stuff, and would just do some of it now and then. My boss gave me a 0 out of 5 for this, since I have done some of it, I gave myself a 3.

The Roof runners activewas the final and agreed upon mark. I am so not happy with that See the source image

So I have dedicated some time in my work day to study Online IT courses.

 

I suppose KPI’s are not that bad….I mean at least I have seen where I can do and be better! That’s what counts, right? I mean this does mean Roof runners activeSophomore

Run Medium

Wallflower

I suppose now I have to start doing more stuff that I actually get paid to do!

Log in to write a note
April 7, 2022

As a former HR manager, I can tell you most of those performance ratings are bullshit.

April 7, 2022

Really? Why do you say that, @solovoice ?