Me….the child Pt 2

My first trip overseas was with my ‘White’ family…my ‘true’ family…we went to London, Israel, Spain and Portugal.

It was back in 95 and South Africa had just won their first Rugby World Cup….

I was about 9 years old then…and it was quite a thrill getting to go on this huge thing that flew up in the sky and took you to this new place.

My father’s oldest and youngest brothers and their family live in London…so we stayed with his youngest brother. Oh my gosh the houses are so narrow there…well at least my uncle’s house was and there were so many stairs to climb…I remember we stayed in the attic….

I don’t remember much of that trip…after all I was 9, so that was like 26 years ago, and a lot has happened since then.

Well since then most of my travelling has been in South Africa…although back in 2011…it had been just about 5 months after my mother passed away…after finishing an accounting exam, something just came over me and I remember I drove to the nearest travel agency and something caught my eye…. CONTIKI…

I rushed home and told my dad that I want to go on holiday…I told him that life is full of so many things you cannot control. I mean as a child I told everyone that asked that I was going to be a Paediatrician….but then I grew up and fell in love with accounting to I finished high school and I told everyone I was going to be a CA for some big ass firm…well 2005 came and some drunk driver decided to do some GTA and hey I ended up in a coma for a few weeks and with memory loss which then became short term memory and then my life took a whole new spin…so I was done waiting, I wanted to see America and that June that is what I was going to do!

So my dad spoke to his travel agent and within a few days I was booked to go on a trip with CONTIKI to see the Best of America…

…you know as I am writing this I am smiling and remembering what a carefree and fun person I used to be. Wow WTF did this me go? I need to find her…. my new mission…

  1. Get back to GYM and loose Weight
  2. Socialize
  3. Dance…Dance…Dance…. I love dancing…damn there were weekends where I would sometimes shut the clubs down…okay I am too old for that now but I can find some enjoyment elsewhere!

Okay…time for work!

Log in to write a note
kat
August 31, 2021

I love to dance

 

August 31, 2021

@kaliko as a child I did ballet and modern dancing…but I stopped both in school…now as an adult I do drunk club dancing…well been awhile since I have been in  a club…but drunk dancing is really cool! 😉

kat
August 31, 2021

@ncumisa lol that is my favorite kind of dancing

August 31, 2021

@kaliko lmao. I am glad you love it too. I can’t wait for Covid to be the past and we can go to clubs and do drunk dancing again. 🤪 I guess can do it in December when summer is here and go to open air clubs… gosh it it is a technique I don’t want to forget…

September 1, 2021

Just because you’re in your mid 30s doesn’t mean you’re too old to dance.  😉

September 1, 2021

@tigerhawk true….but I don’t want to professionally dance…I just can’t wait till we can be back in clubs and bars and mingle and just be the people we were before December 2019