A month on…

…since my father died after a battle with cancer that had also affected heart valves and calcium levels so he couldn’t have treatment. He was a joker to the end and the 3 hours I spent with him talking over good times and generally laughing. Not just  little chuckle but a full on belly laugh. He had no time for sadness or woe is me. His regret at the end was that he couldn’t play bowls as well as he had done and could only bowl half a game before needing to rest.

He had set up his funeral plans and one tune had to be changed as’ from my view’ it had upset the sensibilities of the church where the service was held. Rondo a la Turke to go into the church, ‘Will your anchor hold’ [The Boys Brigade Hymn] as the sole hymn, Slipped Disc by Benny Goodman [he also had a bad back and thought this would be humerous] during the period of reflection – Bring me sunshine by Morecambe and Wise as we left the church for the crematorium.

At the crematorium he had Royal Scot [he was a lover of steam trains so much so that whenever he could he fitted in at least 1 trip to a preserved line]. His fnal piece of music was the theme from 633 squadron He had served in the RAF although colour blindness meant he could not achieve his wishes to be either a pilot (his original wish) and then electrician!

The piece of music he had originally chosen to leave the church with was ‘Always look on the bright side of life’…yes that tune from Monty Python.

The small church (St James’ in South Anston a grade 2 listed delight) was rammed – I mean rammed with people. Many had not been able to travel which may have led to standing room only if they had.

Talking to people I had not seen for more years than enough was a delight as well as the many who I had no idea who they were.

Farewell dad – a life well lived…and yes I couldn’t stop crying for a while after your end. Sorry but I just couldn’t.

Log in to write a note
March 17, 2018

Sorry for your loss, I hope you have many happy memories to treasure

March 17, 2018

@mom2dj thank you..yes there are many and he still makes me smile

March 17, 2018

sorry for your loss again, losing a parent is always so difficult, big hugs

March 18, 2018

@thesunnyabyss Thanks for your wishes…and for finding me again

March 18, 2018

I’m so sorry for your loss Neil.  It sound like he was an amazing person <3

March 18, 2018

@medsurgnurse thanks he was a good man…just told terrible puns! but i still chuckle over them now