Best laid plans

I got a puppy a month ago, what I thought would be a loving relationship, I see it all the time, the dog is there, by your side, no matter what.

It seams mine could care less.  I have spent a month treating, talking funny, encouraging,  and such. She acts as if I am the last person she wants around. She is more excited by the neighbors or strangers, then me.

She is still not potty trained, but i have done all i have learned and been told for 25 days straight. She just looks at me now and goes on the floor. Hundreds of toys, but chews everything but.

I have just as much, if not more, anxiety with her, than as I went through my breakdown after my separation.

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 7, 2020

A bit of advice. Cuddle, pet, hold, comfort, love. After all, she is just a baby. Let her fall asleep in your arms, and she will begin to become very attached to you.

June 7, 2020

I wonder if you should go to puppy training when she is 6 months old?  Then that way she might listen to you?

June 7, 2020

Since you don’t mention any particulars, I’m not sure what you’ve tried, so I’ll say there’s clicker training, positive-reward conditioning, word association… but given that you do suffer from anxiety, have you considered instead talking to Guide Dogs of America? They are NOT just for blind folks… they give dogs to people with debilitating conditions after training the dogs themselves. Maybe you could give them your puppy to train and get her back or give her to them to train and obtain one that’s a better match for you?

June 19, 2020

One word of advice……..bacon!  Might work on the humans in your life too!