Dreams

It’s been a while since I’ve had any kind of dream that I actually remembered when I woke up.  Today I had two.  Nothing too strange.

In the first dream I’m with a bunch of people including my best friend Ang and R2 and some other people.  We’re all dressed up and on our way to something.  Not sure what it is.  Some sort of show.  I’d even say some sort of Indian show because I think everyone with us was desi.  We park our car and are walking toward where the thing is being held.  It’s in some sort of a building that’s attached to an apartment complex.  All of a sudden I recognize the apartment complex even though I’ve never seen anything like it in my real life.  So I start reminiscing about it.  I turn around and there is another girl with us.  In my dream she was my friend Mou who I haven’t seen in years, but in the dream she looked nothing like she does in real life.  Anyway, I go on to tell Mou that this is the building that R Bhabi and her family lived in.  Mou did actually know them in real life because they all lived in KY together.  Anyway, I go on to tell her that we used to visit here often and that the place attached to it is where we would hold a lot of our functions and get togethers…stuff like Bijoya.  As we’re walking I want to tell them that there is a short cut to the place through the apartment complex, but I feel like they aren’t really listening to me or won’t believe me.  But then we see a bunch of other people who are going through the side entrance of the complex and I see that the people I"m with are all going in that direction and I’m glad they decided to take the short cut instead of having to walk all the way around.  And I kinda smirk to myself because inside I know that if I had told them to go that way, they wouldn’t have listened.  The people who are walking in that way hold the door for us and we hurry in.  One of the girls has a cute little puppy that she’s holding and once we get inside, she lets him go and he goes running down the hallway.   He’s all fluffy and big floppy years and so cute!  I tell her that I want a dog but can’t have one because I travel so much that I couldn’t take care of one.  She picks the dog back up and I run ahead of her to open the door at the end of the hallway.  Now we’re in some sort of a room where there are tons of desi people including my parents.  We see another friend of ours.  He’s a Indian guy but he looks just like Josh Duhmel.  We go and sit near him.  Ang and R2 beging to talk in Hindi and the funny thing is that I understand everything they are saying.  I start to smile.  Sitting across from is one of the aunties that I see often at our temple.  She’s looking at me funny I guess because I was smiling.  I tell her that I’m smiling because I just realized that I understood the majority of their conversation and that I think I get conversational Hindi.  She looks at me and she tells me to say something in Hindi then.  I’m annoyed now.  Who the hell does she think she is?  I tell her that I don’t know that I could speak it, but I did understand everything they were saying.  She kinda gives me the whatever laugh.  I’m annoyed when I see my dad come sit next to us and he starts talking about us second generation south-Asians and our culture and how he always made sure I could speak my own language.  Everyone is very interested in what he has to say and all focus is off of me.  That’s when the Josh Duhmel look-a-like behind me taps me on the shoulder and when I turn around, he tells me that he really needs some coffee.  I tell him that I can’t leave right now because my dad would notice.  But I tell him that I’ll go get him some coffee from the kitchen.  I get up and leave the room and start walking down the hallway toward the kitchen when I realize that there is something wrong with one of my legs which is causing me to walk funny.  And I’m totally embarassed because I know Josh Duhmel look-a-like is staring after me so I break out into a run and go to the kitchen.  When I get there, the door is locked.  The girl walking by tells me that she’s got the keys, but she’s gotta go back to the room and get them and then come back here.  And that I would still have to make the coffee because there isn’t any made.  I go back to the room and tell him this.  He just kinda looks at me funny.  In my mind, I realize that he doesn’t really want coffee but that he was actually just trying to come up with an excuse so we could leave together and talk.  Maybe he likes me?  Next thing I know, the thing is ending and everyone is leaving.  I walk up to the Josh Duhmel look-a-like and tell him bye.  He comes over and hugs me and tells me that since I wasn’t able to get him coffee maybe we could go out for coffee some other time.  I know he’s asking me out on a date, but I still don’t believe it.  I tell him sure and give him a hug.  He’s super tall…a good feet taller than me and I barely come up to his chest when I hug him.  So we’re all headed back to our car and we’re taking the long way back which includes a lot of steps going up and then down and then walking a while in one direction and then having to take steps up or down again.  But I’m in a good mood and I tell Ang what the Josh Duhmel look-a-like guy said and even though I get he was asking me out on a date, I tell her that she needs to come with us when we go for coffee.  We keep walking when all of a sudden I look down and I’m in nothing but a t-shirt.  It’s one I’ve been sleeping in lately.  It’s goes down to about mid thigh and I realize that when I raise my arms, you can see my butt in the back.  R2 is there and hides my butt with her big bag and then she says something cryptic.  I’m not sure what she says.  So I say HUH?  And she answers with something else and I realize she’s trying to tell me that my butt is showing.  I’m so embarassed by now.  I’m wondering why I wore this out.  And why didn’t I wear short underneat?  And how could I wear this and leave the house and not realize that there are all sorts of spots and stains on it from where I had spilled food.

I’m not sure if the next part of the dream was an extension of the last.  In between I actually woke up when my alarm went off because I forgot to turn it off yesterday.  But I went back to sleep and I dreamt that I was moving into an apartment with Ang.  We were going to be roommates.  I walk into the apartment and it’s a studio…one room…one huge room…but one room nonetheless.  The bed is against the wall where the door is.  There are huge windows all along the other side of the wall and there is even window seats there. I like that part and I decide that at least I could sit there and read.  Ang is on the phone talking to a guy.  I realize that it’s a guy that she’s interested in.  When she hangs up I ask her why she didn’t invite him over.  She tells me to do it.  That she feels weird doing it.  So I call him up but when he answers the phone, I realize I know him and I kinda like him too.  I don’t know what to say after he say

hello because all of a sudden I dont’ think it’s a good idea that he comes over.  Before I can say anything, he’s says my name and asks if I’m there.  All of a sudden I’m really confused.  How does he know it’s me?  So I ask him and he say my name showed up on call ID.  We start talking and he asks me about the apartment and I start telling him about it.  I tell him it’s not too bad and that there is a lot of light because of the window but that the view out the windows isn’t that great.  It’s like we’re in some part of town where all the factories and stuff are and all I see are smoke pipes rising from buildings releasing all it’s polution out intot he air.  I’m not happy about having to live here at all.  I ask him to come over and he say when.  So I walk over to the wall where there’s a calendar hanging.  We decide on a date and I hang up.  I then tell Ang and tell her that I’ll get the movers to move my stuff and I show here how my couch will fit perfectly agains one of the walls and the TV is already on the other side.  And my couch is a pull out bed so that’s where I’ll sleep.  And I"m trying to make the best of it, but I’m confused as to why I’m leaving my lovely one bedroom apartment to now live with Ang in a studio apatment that’s pretty huge for one person, but not good for two.  That’s when I realize that as I was looking at the calendar I realized something.  I go back to the calendar and tell Ang that I’m paid up at my apartment now through the next month.  That if I move at the end of this month, I’ll be paying rent at two different places.  I’m hoping she’ll tell me that I don’t have to move in yet since I’m still at my apartment and that I won’t have to pay rent for next month since I’m not moving in.  But instead she’s like well you knew when we’d be moving here and all I can think is how expensive can a studio apartment here be?  Deep down, I’m not ready to move in with her at all.

I’m apartment hunting in real life so I can tell where some of that came from.  The rest?  Who knows.  It wasn’t as strange as my dreams usually are.

Log in to write a note
July 22, 2006

Apartment hunting is stressful, but exciting all at once. I wish I could go apartment hunting. I haven’t been since university and I had to settle for a sh*thole because I was tired of being jerked around by potential roommates and couldn’t afford more than a tiny bachelor on my own.

July 23, 2006

oh my, Indian Josh Duhamel sounds so dreamy. no pun intended. ~