Forgotten

29-05-2001

I know people who’s goal in life is to be remembered by others or to be famous so that when children learn history at school they will learn their name.

 

I on the other hand don’t care about that because I don’t care if I am remembered (I won’t be dare to enjoy it) and because no matter how famous you become during your life eventually you will be forgotten so it’s only a temporary thing.

 

Off course I can understand why people feel that way. That want to have the feeling they are contributing something to the human race in general and if you name appears in the history book you have contributed something, either positive or negative.

 

Some people say that if you are famous enough people will always remember you. I have to disagree, for example, everyone knows Hitler and what he has done. In a 100, perhaps 200 years it will be ancient history and people learn in only in history classes and aren’t very interested in it, it certainly won’t be common knowledge like it is today. In perhaps 500 years it won’t be taught during general history and it will only be known by those who actually study history and then also that specific timeframe. In a 100 years only few know of a man called Hitler and in 2000 years his name will only appear in the occasional textbook. After that his name will decline and eventually people have no interest in it so it will be forgotten.

 

Perhaps the above example isn’t entirely correct and perhaps it will take more time but the point is the same, eventually no one remembers you.

 

I think the main reason people want to be remembered is because that way they are in a sense immortal, something everyone has dreamed of one time or another. Since real immortality is impossible being remembered is a reasonable substitute.

 

I will be glad that if I am old ‘I’ will remember my own name.

 

Log in to write a note