Holidays

it took me a long time to get back into holidays after my first marriage failed back in 1991. Now, I’m back to hating them. I don’t have a mother anymore to celebrate and the mother of my boys, can’t seem to talk to me although I have sent a gift and well wishes for having them.

This is just one holiday in a series of what is now lonely and depressing.

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2020

I understand completely.  I’ve gone over a decade spending every holiday and holy day alone by myself, and very fractured in the exchanges that have occurred during those years.  I eventually took the liberty to do things my own way and create contentment for myself.  You can do the same, easy!  The most famous mother of all is “mother nature” or “mother earth” and so you could go for a stroll and visit “her” and possibly find joy in it.  Or maybe this idea is no consolation to you and is annoying.  That isn’t my intention.  But I do know what it’s like when celebratory days are anything but.  I eventually outgrew the misery of it and claimed creative enterprise instead lol.  Sometimes you just have to strike your own chord.

May 10, 2020

I know a lot of men who have the same thoughts as you but for some it’s because of different reasons.  Hubby doesn’t care one way or the other and he would just much rather work then to be a part of the gift buying and the big meals.  The only reason he is a part of any holiday is because of me.  And his mother is no longer here either.

May 11, 2020

Sorry you’re having a tough time.

May 11, 2020

Sorry you hate holidays, but I can totally understand.   🙁