Lost interest

I have never rediscovered my love of cooking since the divorce. Hell, sometimes I can’t go shopping because I see something and I begin to tell myself “Patty would love this” and like that my shopping is ruined.

Now I have spent a few months as a chef apprentice way way back in 1989 and I have done line cooking and prep cooking. I made entire Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners for my family, but the one thing I never did was cook for one. One lonely man who would rather starve or spend money he doesn’t have at a restaurant. Frozen TV dinners have lost their luster and sometimes it’s a bother to cook Ramen or even Campbell’s soup. So it’s usually chips or deli meat (which both are probably killing me.)

I miss cooking for my family, in an actual kitchen, with all the right stuff. Now I have a 5′ kitchenette and 2′ of counter space. A microwave and the smallest electric oven in the world. Seriously,  a typical cookie sheet doesn’t fit in it.

I know why I’m still over weight, chips and shit food, but I don’t just eat all day.

BLAH

Log in to write a note
November 30, 2022

I find when cooking for a small number, the key is just to make meals that freeze well. Things like Beef Stroganoff, Spaghetti sauce, Cabbage Rolls, butter chicken, chicken paprikash etc. etc.  All those freeze really well, so you can make 6 servings, and split them into 2 portion meals.

December 4, 2022

I feel like I would do the same thing in your situation.  I would find it hard to cook just for myself.  You should though, especially if cooking is something you once enjoyed doing.  Maybe when your kids come over you could cook a big meal 🙂

December 20, 2022

Rough times you’re in, Newt. I hope that my comments, the comments of the co-members are helping you a bit against the loneliness.