So I just lost my job

Yup. I’m snowed in, out of everything,  and just got a call that I am being laid off.

It’s going to be a fucking rough night.

Of course I have no one to talk to so I call my sister. First I get, don’t tell the boys. Secondly I get the well get out there pep talk. What I don’t get is any compassion whatsoever. Why should I?

I’ve reached my limit of these “tests”. The “plan”. I’m essentially screwed. I have zero savings, just got screwed out of a Christmas bonus, 2 weeks before I would have been given it, and unemployment will barely keep me in this apartment I am stuck in.

I can’t drink myself to death because I have no liquor or for that fact anything. I guess I have to turn of the heat, can’t afford it and start thinking about what things I will have to leave behind.

I’m sure Patty will smile and say something about how I can never hold a job, but so much for the safety net I built for 20 years.  Homeless for Christmas.  Here I thought life couldn’t get worse.

Log in to write a note
kat
November 21, 2022

So sorry! A pray for answers soon

November 21, 2022

@kaliko 🤗

November 21, 2022

that is so awful.  I want to help in some way.

November 21, 2022

@strawberryjelly Thank you.

November 21, 2022

Wow – that is horrible. I’m sorry. Hope you’ve filed for unemployment right away. And start sending out job applications everywhere. Hopefully a decent job will show up soon. If nothing else, you might be able to get some type of seasonal work until a permanent solution kicks in.

 

November 21, 2022

@wrecktangle thanks

November 21, 2022

I’m sorry.  (I empathize with losing a job, but, thankfully, it never happened to me at holiday time….)

November 21, 2022

@control-h Thanks

November 21, 2022

That is horrible…I’m sorry…

November 24, 2022

I am so sorry about what you are going through.

A pray that something good comes your way and that things get better for you and your situation soon.

xxx 😘