Thoughts

I took my son back to college today. He goes to Alfred State which is a little over 80 miles from me. I don’t think I could have driven any slower then I did to have time with him.

Am I a good man? A good father? IDK. The world and “my people” have left me feeling worthless. 80 miles, in the dark, and just my thoughts. It’s all fault, isn’t it? If I was a better husband or friend or brother or person, I wouldn’t be in this spot. I would still be married and have had enjoyed Thanksgiving with my family. At this moment I would be sitting holding Patty and just talking about things. Instead I am in a cold bleak apartment where the sounds of my kids have all gone silent since they are hone or at college.

I wasn’t good enough to keep my job. I wasn’t important enough to people here who left me stranded for 5 days while I literally watched them dig out empty apartments.

I don’t feel like I am important to anyone or anything anymore. People shook me out of their lives so quick and permanently. Even Patty, didn’t waste any time and now acts and treats me like we have no history.

I have always been good at failing. Great at losing no matter what. Having almost everything that made me happy and complete taken from me although I did everything right. I’m all for karma. You treat people or a person like shit, you should lose them in your life, but you essentially worship someone, unselfishly giving everything you can for them the last thing you would or should expect is to lose not just them, but friends and family too.

I don’t know why I write anymore. I’m not feeling the “therapy” from it. I feel like I’m doing everything I should to be better and everyone is ignoring me or just doesn’t care.

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2022

Newt:  I am a terrible correspondent on OD, but your entry caught my eye, and I just want to say that you are loved. By me, by others that you know but who have not told you, and also by people you have not yet met.  Time will let you have many, many more chances to build your relationship with your son.  Holidays are hard.  Please hang on.

November 28, 2022

@thirteendogs Thank you

November 28, 2022

thirteendogs is right, you are cared about, maybe not in the way you have always hoped or wanted, but there are caring and loving people out there.  Some people as broken as you are too – I hope you find some solace and hope, some peace and some joy during a time that is so hard for so many.  I have hope and faith for you.  I believe in the human spirit, even in the darkest and lowest of times, friend.

November 28, 2022

@strawberryjelly Thank you

November 28, 2022

Did your son and you talk much on the drive?

Are you a good man and father…yes, you are!  I don’t personally know you but just from what I do know you have a good heart and a lot to give to someone.  I don’t mean material things, either.

I care…

November 28, 2022

@happyathome Talked alot and stopped at a nice place for dinner,  but time is a villain.