Ton of bricks

I have always thought the expression “hit me like a ton of bricks” was funny. How could you not see something in your life failing so bad that you can’t see it coming?

And then I lived it for the last 22 months.

I can’t say that there hasn’t been some “up’s” over this time. I’ve made some new friends, cyber friends is what the kids call them, I have brought a dog, which has been a wonderful thing for my neighbor, literally my dog just eats and sleeps at my home, but prefers every waking moment over next door. Some old friends have come back into my life, and left just as quick.

But, my life is not better. I have yet seen the “plan” that the almighty has laid down for me, unless it’s all about the suffering. I lost my childhood home, possessions, the only love I truly cared for, my family. The friends I held close to my heart have all but left me for dead. No check in calls, no invites, no responses to me apologizing that my “ton of bricks” inconvenienced their lives. My sister has took all of this as a personal affront, how dare my “ton of bricks” make her life hard. Why am I not the father she would be in my place? Why am I letting a little thing like my ex destroying my “everything” make me not be what she wants me to be?

To many dark, silent, and lonely nights have lead me to look into online dating. I am currently giving a nice young woman, I have seen twice, money for sudden expenses.   I know, you don’t have to say it, but although my ex, friends, and sister would make it seam I am the world’s biggest asshole, I generally care about people, whether they care for me. Besides, I have some extra cash and I don’t do anything but go home, feed “the neighbor’s dog”, and sleep until the next shitty day starts.

 

Log in to write a note
October 30, 2020

That woman is using you and when your money is gone and then she will be gone….just so you know. I have had friends like that and it’s a horrible feeling.

I have a feeling once there is a new president life will be a lot better for everyone.

October 30, 2020

My ton of bricks was being told my brother had terminal cancer. He had 12-18 months left. He was dead within five weeks. We knew he was dying. We did not expect his first dose of chemo to cause a cascade of heart attacks so hard and fast that they could not save him. Ton of bricks.

October 30, 2020

I use the phrase from time to time.  I was hit by a ton of bricks when my grandson’s diagnosis came back as autism.  You don’t expect to have bad things to good people like yourself. I wish I knew why all these people are making themselves scarce to you.  If you knew that you could better deal with it.  🙂

December 25, 2020

You are invited to my open house.  Things are getting started so stop on by.  😎  tracker