Was it right or wrong?

I’ve been bopping back and forth with a potential job. At first the money lured me into considering it, but I ultimately turned it down.

It was selling accidental death insurance. Personally I think that it is a very good company. There was also hospital stay payments like Afflec offers. Over all 4 sales a week would gave making more money then I have ever made.

On the other side though, I would have to get an insurance license, which would be around $400 and since I don’t have one, a decent lap top, so another $500ish. The job is 100% commission, no draw, so no sale, no money.

I decided that I am too old with too many problems to do something like this. Also, unemployment is weird and if I took this job it would screw it all up and then I would be SOL. There was a very scared little boy in me afraid of change that is too afraid to take this much of a risk too.

So I passed on it, for what I really thought and considered good reasons. Now I am sitting here feeling like a failure once again.

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2023

If it makes you feel any better, I would without a doubt passed on it too.  The expense you were going to have to come up with for one.  The uncertainty being another.  IMO you did the right thing.

January 19, 2023

@happyathome Thank you

January 19, 2023

You made a good decision passing on this.

January 20, 2023

100% commission is A LOT of pressure…I don’t blame you.

January 20, 2023

Yeah. Like I said, a younger man’s game. Maybe if I didn’t have kids or any real attachments.

I did allow myself to fantasize being able to do this job anywhere, the work at home aspect. It’s always the right thing at the wrong time…