Mother’s Jewelry

My mother always loved jewelry. While she didn’t have money to buy a lot of really expensive pieces, she did buy a few over her lifetime. My father had bought her a few too. Also, she inherited some nice pieces from her aunt.

Well, my sister and I took all of it to the jeweler to find out what was worth keeping. We split all up into three groups. One for each of us and one for my niece. My mother had designated who some of the pieces should go to and we split the rest.

She had a bunch of 14 k gold chains. We had the jeweler melt them done into three nuggets. They are beautiful.

On my part, I have a few pieces I will give to my granddaughter when she is old enough to appreciate them. A ruby necklace (her birthstone) and a little gold floating heart.

I am wearing her wedding band on my little finger… a good constant reminder of her love.

Log in to write a note
September 29, 2013

How wonderful to have those few precious treasures. Lucky you. Nice to see you again after my time away from OD.