Let’s just call this a cluster f…

The following events took place February 4th-5th, 2021.

 

Okay. I’m going to try to make this short and sweet but no promises. Over the course of 1 day I got a $150 late fee on my rent cause it kept slipping my mind AND got a $250 fee for my car being towed from Kail’s apartment complex. But it’s not that simple of a story.

I’ll start with this, I got a birthday card from my dad. It had been delivered to my mom’s house so I went there to pick it up. Turns out it had $100 in it (very spoiled). I felt bad he did that in the first place but even more so after knowing it bascally just covered the late fee I had just gotten. From there I went to Kail’s because I had food to drop off from my mom. I intended on only dropping it off but I ended up staying there til 1 in the morning. When I go to leave I realize my car is missing and I wonder if it’s been towed or stolen. Logically leaned toward it being towed but still pissed thinking the office was closed until 8 in the morning and not knowing if I should report it stolen in case it actually had been. When she dropped me off and left, I called and thankfully someone was there. The guy I spoke with told me that it had in fact been towed for parking in the garage without a permit. He said I could pick it up within the next hour or wait until they open. I choose to wait. Kail offered to give me a ride but she had to work and was already up so late I told her no.

The next morning I wake up early, my mom takes me to the tow yard, I pick up my car. The company is so generous they put on my paperwork what time they retrieved my car: 11:59PM. Had I left 1 hour earlier from Kail’s, it would not have been towed that night. Anyway, it is Friday morning. Normally I work weekdays but I had that day requested off. Personal day? No. I had a dentist appointment to have my wisdom tooth pulled. So this entire time after my car had been towed I was so pissed off like great timing… I had a dentist appointment and no car. BUT at the same time thankful cause I thought of how annoying it would have been had I not had the day off and what it would have been like to have to be late for work and have to tell my boss what happened. Oh and I failed to mention this tow yard was RIGHT DOWN THE STREET FROM KAIL’S APARTMENTS. 20 minute walk, 0.9 miles away (thanks Google). I could have stayed at her house and then walked to pick up my car on my own without burdening my mom or anyone else for that matter. I couldn’t believe it haha

Another thing I thought was funny is I had planned on changing the dentist appointment and just never got around to doing it. So I was thinking had I just changed it this wouldn’t have happened on the same day.

Alllso, I had a merit increase lump sum coming my way that we usually get in January but it had been delayed so I just got it on the 4th.

Basically what I’m trying to say is I went through a serious rollercoaster there. I kept cycling through being annoyed/angry then grateful/thankful. Angry about the late fee but thankful I got the $100 from my dad. Angry my car was towed but thankful it hadn’t been stolen. Angry I had to pay $250 to get my car out and annoyed it happened on the day I had a stressful dentist appointment scheduled but thankful I had my merit increase that I was lucky enough to have gotten late and also thankful I already had the day off so I actually could just go get my car without worrying about work.

I don’t know, I’m rambling and this is hard to explain without doing so but I just wanted to point out all these connections and just say timing is funny. The way things work out sometimes is funny.

And I do acknowledge that these fees were brought upon myself and they are fair and square. They made me mad but I had to take them in stride cause I knew I only had myself to blame. Such a hard pill to swallow really but I get it. Don’t park where you’re not supposed to and pay your bill(s) on time, especially when you already have a grace period! Thanks for the slaps on the wrist, Universe. I suppose I really was let off easily in the end. It could have been so much worse.

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2021

You love fees

February 18, 2021

@heffay lmao correct, I’m sad I only got 2.

February 18, 2021

hugs

February 18, 2021

@sleepydormouse 🤗