I am listening

what would happen if we just shut our mouths and listened?

would people actually start talking? or would you go mad as you hear the bullshit they only know how to say?

would you start to hear what’s said between the words?

or maybe something else would dawn.

 

i get frustrated when people try to put words in my mouth. like a fish, they want me to take their bait.

but if my mouth is shut, there is nothing to grab onto, nothing to hook.

i’d love to spend my days this way.

quiet bliss. inward journey.

until you hear me screaming when the deafness roars

Log in to write a note
August 16, 2020

V. true. 🙂

August 20, 2020

Yes

 

August 18, 2021

True about listening. So many drowned the life and people around them constantly talking and never know people because they never listen. I regret not truly listening to so many in my past so absorbed was I in my own life. The lives of others heard is like fine complex music. “Love is listening” I read long ago. I read once of a hospital in a Scandinavian country that had people whose job description was, “Listener”.

February 13, 2022

We suck at silence.  Such sucking at such short silences should surely shush someone.

February 13, 2022

I love you so much for saying what you said about spreading the flame.  holy shit on a communion cracker that made me weep with Joy, and pride.  So please, beware, it will get worse.

February 13, 2022

@cygnusx-1

This “We suck at silence.  Such sucking at such short silences should surely shush someone.”

is the funniest thing you’ve said. Although SSG Murphy had me in tears.

 

February 13, 2022

@cygnusx-1 “that made me weep with Joy, and pride.  So please, beware, it will get worse.”

you are right, we do need to get our definitions straight.

You have me upside down inside out and it couldn’t be more right.

February 13, 2022

You should listen to John Denver, Rocky Mountain High, and sing it to the Highest, for this is my best pro tip:  All songs are church, in the right intent.  This song is church even if you have no intent, but it is a good song no matter.  He makes me weep, for I understand why they cut the mountains down to make room for more people.  This goes back to the clever monkeys coming down from the trees, we think, and mushrooms now we think improved the eyesight and possibility space of these monkeys, and they learned to plan.

And then they learned to lie, and we did not kill the first one who lied.  Nor did we kill the first one who answered, Why am I here? with Give me a tenth of your stuff and we will tell you later, after you say our magic words and obey the laws that force you to act like you believe so we can feel smug in our superior religions, look how our god is followed by the whole World.

But this is not why I am here.  Colorado Rocky Mountain High.  I’ve seen it rain fire in the sky. I talked to God this morning and listened to the casual reply.  They love a prodigal son where I am going, for he has travelled like the Journeyman, and even if he never makes it to master, Apprentice Baiter is still pretty good pay.