topsy turvy

Bit of an up and down, emotional, rollercoaster day, actually.

 

This morning

I went with Jenny

To see the Mumgu-dhal students

On their first day

 

It was a beautiful thing

To see a class before it begins

To actually address a girl’s insecurities

And nervousness

And feel my heart reach out to her

 

I spent the hour of lunchtime

With the newest Skill Up clients

And despite their horrible situation

They are all really great people

And ever-grateful to us

For giving them some positive news

And listening

If only for ten minutes

 

This afternoon at work I was so busy

I could barely think

 

I had my Spanish class after work

An intense hour and a half of concentration

But as always

I left with a smile

 

Then

Drinks with

Tres mexicanas

Una española

Una ecuatoriana

My brain hurts

No entiendo mucho

But I had so much fun

 

Good news from Jess; she has a new job

It means

More pay, more responsibility, more stability, better hours, better job

But no more

Train dates, Office of the Dean morning teas, gossip sessions, x7773, student frustrations, office communicator

 

Then I found out

My flights to Darwin are cancelled:

“As part of a recent network review, Tiger Airways has suspended flights between Melbourne and Darwin."

“Your flight has been cancelled. We do apologise for any disruption caused to your travel plans.”

And I’m devastated

Because I have been looking forward to going for so long

It’s not the money

(though I will have to pay double with any other airline)

It’s the fact that those flight times were perfect

And I’ve already got work off

 

Then I found out

Delia,

The most amazing woman from my high school tuckshop

Died today from a heart attack

Feels like the world’s gone topsy turvy.

 

But Imogen Heap is coming back to do another concert

And tickets go on sale tomorrow

And valentine’s day was perfect

And he made me smile today, at just the right time

And of course there are many other good things.

But I guess I’m just feeling a bit sad at the moment.

Log in to write a note
February 19, 2011

this is beautiful. It’s written beautifully. I love reading your entries. And they are a rare pleasure as they are so infrequant, yet delightful. xx

sucks about deliliah. i know one and she can be a bitch at time but i dont want her to die