It started with Martha Davis

My son was at work and my wife was on her laptop so after we came home from church (it’s advent), I had some free time. I didn’t feel like watching TV or reading so music time it was. The was a song going through my head (“Tell It To The Moon”) by Martha Davis from her underrated and out of print 1st solo disc from 1987, Policy. Martha has such an expressive voice – so clear – powerful and dare I say sexy. (Yeah I had a crush on her – what can I say? I’m a sucker for women singers.) Well after spinning this, I needed more Martha so out comes Careful; the 1980 release by The Motels, the band she’s well known for. From this I spun “Bonjour Baby”, “Days Are OK (But the Nights Were Made for Love)” & “Whose Problem?” What a delight. Another much understated record. Not the hits – this is when The Motels were “new wave” and quirky.

So we’re on a roll here – next up is Michelle Wilson singing “How I Need You” aka the theme from The Trial of Billy Jack. A great song – I loved the movie, at least I did in the ‘70’s. I wonder is she ever sang anything else?

Next up was “Joey” from Concrete Blonde’s 1990 disc Bloodletting. Johnette Napolitano has such an expressive voice – a pleasure to listen to. So it appears that I’m on a roll with female vocalists but no – my mind went elsewhere. Traveling the emotional trail let me to Eric Carmen.

From his wonderful 1977 disc, Boats Against the Current; I played “Boats Against the Current,” “Marathon Man” & “She Did It”.  Ok now I needed more Eric Carmen so out came 1978’s Change of Heart album from which I played “Desperate Fools Overture”, “Haven’t We Come a Long Way”, “Hey Deanie”& “Someday”.

The emotional needs now satiated, I was feeling full of energy. I was bouncing around the room. Time to switch gears. That can only mean one thing; it’s time for Sammy Hagar. From his 1978 live album All Night Long, I spun "Red"& "I’ve Done Everything for You". I was introduced to both Sammy Hagar and The Motels in 1980 when I saw them on TV. I bought the albums right after that. My late friend, Marty Wein and I used to spin the Sammy live (as well as the 1st Montrose album) constantly. I highly recommend them both.

Now it’s time to slow it down but just a little bit. Out comes 1978’s Mirrors by Blue Oyster Cult. The selections on this one were: “Dr. Music”, “In Thee”& “Mirrors”. I still needed some more BOC so I pull out 1974’s Secret Treaties. From this I play “Flaming Telepaths” & “Astronomy”. Yes I’m feeling really good now.

 At this point, music time is over and it’s time to move on. I enjoyed my listening time. I have not done this in awhile.

 Well that’s it for now – till next time.

 Live large…

#6

Log in to write a note
December 12, 2008

What an odd seque from Martha to Sammy — I would have never guessed it, but I REALLY like some of those cuts. I hope your wife appreciated the concert LOL 😉