…and just like that it’s 2018…

Hello. Hi. Heya.

Welcome one and all to this scintillating diary.

How funny that OD is back? I was just a little shocked. But unfortunately I can’t get it out of my system so here I am…

Its been about 6 years since my last entry and I dare say most of my regular readers are all out living their lives. But it was too tempting not to come back. Besides, we all need a little outlet now and then.

2018 called for changes. Changes in careers and ambitions, attitude adjustments and a diary name change. It’s not so much that I’m not Nurse Vee anymore, it’s just that it’s not the best or most accurate description of me. I’ve kinda moved on. It’s been almost 9 years since I last practiced as a Nurse and while I’ll always consider that a part of me, it doesn’t especially define who I am right now.

I’m still stuck in Texas though. Now don’t get me wrong, Texas has some nice places but Houston isn’t one of them. This is the type of city that you get swallowed by. You become a moving robot, carried away by the hectic speed at which people move. It’s the large city mentality and honestly? It sucks. I’ve felt this heavy dragging in my gut since we moved here and six years later that urge hasn’t dissipated.

Houston is the kind of place that makes you lose years quickly. I’ve been here nearly 6 (years) now and not once have I felt like “I’m home.” I don’t feel settled and quite often I don’t feel happy. The plan is to reclaim those feelings. The plan is to move (and in the shortest timeframe possible).

I’m reluctant to write about my career change until it’s 100% certain. So I’ll just say this: I took a chance. I applied for some jobs that I was fairly certain I wouldn’t get with companies that are notoriously difficult to get jobs with. I’m shaking things up. Taking control. Proving my worth to myself. Changing direction. God willing I’ll get my opportunity and I’ll shine a bit brighter (because the last few years have been full of bumps and hiccups).

In 2014 I had a baby girl. That “baby” turns 4 in a few short weeks and it’s another reminder of how fast life will fly by if you don’t take the odd moment to stop and appreciate the good.

My eldest daughter is 19 and my middle is almost 16. Crazy times. Miss 19 informed me of her plan to move out in the next few months and to be quite frank, I’m panicking. That happened fast! I’m not ready! But I guess it has to happen at some point… I just figured that it would still be a couple years away yet!

I’m happy to have OD back. I have no idea if it will ever be what it once was (to me especially) but it’s nice to have a place to write some stuff down now and again.

~ Vee

Log in to write a note
March 25, 2018

I am Texas as well.  I agree–screw Houston and screw Dallas.  Austin used to be cool, but I think people from California are ruining this place.  I’ve had conversations with a lot of them, and they all seem really rude and unfriendly like California is the shit or something.

March 25, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Lol. I’ve lived in a few different states and I can honestly say that sticking to the middle of the country seems to be where the “sane people” live.

March 26, 2018

@nurse_vee

Are you talking about Kansas, Missouri, and the states around that area?

March 26, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Lol… eh…. More like Colorado lol. That’s where I used to live. It’s literally perfection. People are friendly, traffic isn’t a complete nightmare, nice views from your window, great outdoor stuff to do. Yup… love that place.

March 28, 2018

@nurse_vee

I love Colorado, especially Denver.  Texas is a nice second home though, lol.

March 28, 2018

@mentaldysplasia I don’t mind the hill country and Austin… Houston? Ick. I’ve spent 6 years regretting the move here.

March 25, 2018

Oh, to get your wing just drink a Red Bull.

March 25, 2018

@mentaldysplasia Ew. I might be the only person to ever say this but energy drinks are gross! Don’t worry, I have some plans on how to get my wings and they’re not inside an aluminum can!

March 26, 2018

@nurse_vee

That was just me having fun.  I abhor energy drinks as well.

March 25, 2018

I’m glad your back, I like your diary name. You express yourself well, I’m glad open diary is back too! But unfortunately for me I had to start a whole new one, that’s okay though. Sometimes it’s good to start fresh.

March 25, 2018

@candyliciousmagic Thanks! I downloaded my diaries years ago and then my laptop died a fateful death. I’m glad it’s still here. It’s parts of me that I like to reflect on.

March 25, 2018

We’re happy to have you back too, welcome!

March 25, 2018

@thediarymaster Giddy-up. Let’s get this party started.

March 25, 2018

Hello!  It’s wonderful to see you writing here!