boxing day…

Unlike most other people, my Xmas day wasn’t the big celebration because this year my extended family decided that our Christmas get together was going to be held on Boxing Day…. Given that my mother was just out of plaster I decided to pitch in and do my 5 cents worth by making salads and desserts… Boy did I ever throw my heart and soul into that activity! Rather ambitiously, I chose 3 Salads (Potato, Pasta and Impoli salad) and 3 desserts, Tiramisu, Marble Christmas Cake and Almond Toffee Bark. Whew.

I stumbled out of bed at 5.50am to begin my cooking foray… by 7am I was at the Supermarket picking up goodies for the desserts and by 8am I had pots of potatos, eggs and pasta boiling away on the stove.

I found a lovely Tiramisu recipe on the net (from some food network guru) and then added a few of my own ingrediants to give it a distinct flavour and after a few dummy spits about my good presentation bowl being at my mothers house and her reluctance to give it back… I finally had the first dessert made. The cake was pretty simple. Mix it up and bung it in the oven. I ran around and around the kitchen like I was mildly possessed and I got hot and tired and a wee bit stroppy (because everyone else was sitting around like whale watchers on a sunny day), but I finally had 6 rather fantastic looking dishes.

We then raced over to Mum’s and laid the goodies out on the table. Mmmmmmmmmmmm. Everyone had brought something lovely, from more salad’s to a large bowl of seasonal berries in Cointreau…. We had Turkey and Ham and all sorts of delicious food! It really was very nice. I saw my relatives and cousins and friendsof my parents that live interstate so it was a lovely, large gathering. My Tirsmisu was a massive hit and walked like i’ve not seen a dessert walk before. I even had people fighting over who was gonna scrape the bowl… lol. I think my extra splash of Brandy was the ‘it’ ingrediant. Twas very very yumm-o!

I decided in the late afternoon to go on a walk with my aunt… We kind of felt stuffed full and needed a walk to aid the digestion… Well… being slightly fitter than myself she races along while I plodded behind… *grumble* My foot started absolutely killing me halfway through the ‘sprint’ and we decided to stop and sit in the park while the kids ran around and played on the equipment. I rested enough to make it back to Mum’s house, but only ‘just!’

I was so knackered by last night that it was all I could do to collapse on the recliner and watch Trauma TV.  Mike tried to sit with me but got a little too quesy at some of the procedures so retired to the bedroom.

Then there was a knock at the door. Who should be there??? LAURA. Man that girl likes to surprise me! She’d flown in from Perth that morning on the red eye and wanted to stop by to say hello!  We had a bit of a chat and she told me that she’s excited that I’m coming over in April etc etc.

After Laura left I crawled into bed and went straight to sleep… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Today is one of those blah days. It’s 36 degrees, hot as all hell with no wind and a sun beating down like you can’t imagine. My house is a sauna and the kids have already had 3 cold baths, 2 runs under the sprinkler and they’re about to disappear out the back for another go. I just need to get them into their hats and off they gooooo. I might have a run around under it too, i’m boiling hot!!!

Summer lovin’…

Vee

Log in to write a note
December 26, 2005

We have BIG celebrations on Boxing Day Because Xmas Day is for IMMEDIATE family. In my family :o)

December 26, 2005

So at risk of sounding completely stupid, I must ask, what is boxing day? I’m glad your dishes were a hit and am sad you couldn’t manage to save some to send to me lol Ah warm weather. It is payback for when it’s nice here and cold there. But of course, that’s how it all works *giggle* I’m a bit loopy, tired like so don’t mind the babbling. lol Have a wonderful day!

December 26, 2005

Boxing Day is like an EXTRA Christmas day for me.. Sounds like your CHristmas was quite pleasant 🙂 and I’m sure the extra..Brandy was it? was definately the “it” ingredient. My Christmas was different. ‘Nuff said. You’re most certainly not boring, my year’s been rather uneventful, which is good, I kind-of like it that way. 🙂 Happy New Year in advance.

December 26, 2005

My apartment, luckily, is always cooler inside than the outside temp, by quite a bit. (Sucks in winter, though) Tiramisu, oh my God, I would lick the gutter for some of that Right Now. RYN – hey, if you can’t pick the best bits of ex’s, they’re even more useless than they were when you were with them :oP where in Melb are ya? I’m thinking of crashing your NYE party :oP

December 26, 2005

mmmm… fixes a plate…mmm mmm mmm mmm mmm

December 26, 2005

i kinda like having christmas on boxing day 🙂 we used to always do that “bring a plate” deal with my fathers side..berries in cointreau (took me forever to try n spell that!!!) sounds delicious! with a little icecream mmmm yum

December 26, 2005

It’s all worth while when you see the look on their faces and the moans of delight LOL! About the food, that is. I pretty much did all the cooking for Christmas Day, but luckily it was just immediate family + an extra. You almost made me drool thinking about your yummy dishes! If only I could cook as well, lol, however I shouldn’t complain – everyone survived surprisingly! =D

December 27, 2005

I am just tired reading about all of this! Hope the following week is better for you…I have lost your number too :o(( Love, ME xxx

December 27, 2005

I’m glad Laura is there!!! How long is she staying for? I was going to call you when you sent me that text, but I was at Kelly’s and she was teaching me how to play the drums. I think I rock!!! I hope I get some money soon so I can buy myself a kit and then Kel can really teach me the moves. Crap!!! I was going to say something else, but I can’t remember what it was now. Oh well, it must…

December 27, 2005

…have been a lie…

December 27, 2005

i’m hungry and your entry isn’t helping!!! 🙂 i hope you’re up and walking well again….running actually…i hope you’re running around with no pain at all!

December 27, 2005

I wish I was at your’s on Boxing Day! Sounds absolutely delicious!!!! I would have eaten all those desserts until I couldn’t move!!!

Sounds like u outdid yrself! Well Done!! Yr family celebration sounded nice 🙂 Wish I could’ve come….