christmas schmissmas….

I’m feeling decidedly un-jolly today. Un-ho-ho-ho and definately NOT wanting it to be Christmas time. But see? I have no control over these things so the 32 hours of non-stop, frantic shopping goes ahead, the incessantly chirpy carols are balred out of every shop… retail assistants with red hats and gold, dangle, xmassy earrings bop around the stores and the cutting of chrissy paper and sticky tape ploughs on.

I thought I was ready. I mean… I knew it was coming and I thought I was pretty good for it all. Today I have decided that Christmas can just sink to the very bottom of Loch Ness… I’m over it.

I suppose you’re all wondering (or not) why I’m sounding like such a Scrooge McNasty… well I’m just a bit emotional and pissed off.

I dropped Emma off at the airport this morning… had to leave before she boarded the plane because the airport charges such horendous and exorbitant (there it is again Emmy-Lou) prices for parking. As it was I was there 40 minutes and was slugged $8.00. Wouldn’t you think some nice parking manager would wave the charges on Xmas Eve? Nup. So that put my early morning joy on the backburner. I was really sad to see Em go… I just didn’t want it to happen. I just kept secretly hoping that she would change her mind… I know that was so dreadfully unlikely because Virgin BLue does not refund your airfare once paid for, but hey… it’s nice to dream. So no, I didn’t want her to leave.. but she had to so that just makes me go "phooey."

Then there’s the small issue of the crap that is going on at my mates place. I wanna be there with her. I feel like crap that I’m here and she’s there. Crap, pooh, yuk… bum bum bum. My emotions are riding on an all time high. I have that lump in my throat and I just wanna get all teary.

Then I spoke to my mother… well what a charming mood she was in this morning. I’m not going to go into details of the conversation, suffice to say that I wasn’t feeling terribly chummy about her… In fact I just wanted to slam the phone down on her. Sometimes she can be so infuriatingly insensitive!

So in my already morose mood I decided to go off to Forest Hill to pick up Mike’s xmas present. I drove around looking for a park (ha-ha) and despite it only being 9.35am the car parks were jam packed. So I grumbled a little more before finding a park 2 streets away. I made the mistake of wearing my new shoes which rubbed and cut into my feet… I felt like a cripple as I plodded along. After a sushi roll and a hot chocolate I felt somewhat better, picked up Mike’s pressie and sat down to rest my poor tootsies. My phone started ringing and it was Mike seeing how I was (awwww how thoughtful). He asked if I had seen what he had bought himself with his dad’s xmas money. I said I didn’t and he told me…

*(%*&%$^$#$(&*%)*%($(&%)*%)*%)%(&$*$#&*()$%$&^(*^%&^()^*&(_()*$#$@@#$^&_*#^$#$%*&!!!!!!!!

In case you are confused that was a whole list of expletives that cannot be uttered. They all ran through my head at the same time. This is because Mike (in all his wisdom) went out and purchased EXACTLY what I had bought him for xmas… like… 2 identical presents. I mean, it wasn’t hard, with Mike I either buy him Playstation games (or in this instence, PSP games for the consol we have been given by my ex-boss) or clothes (but only when he is with me). So.. he went out and bought the same game I had and the exact same UMD movie.

I’m not sure why, but this was really just about all I could handle. In front of a zillions shoppers I burst into tears. I just felt like I had been walking the length of shopping centre after shopping centre searching for something for him and could not ind anything original… I was just totally fed up at not being able to buy a surprise gift. How pathetic.

So who shoudl come along whilst I was in the midst of a "full-on" strop attack? My aunt and uncle. Bloody yay. Of course they then wanted to know what was wrong and I had to pretend that  I was just really overtired for nights of restless sleep. *rolls eyes*

Anyway, so I returned those gifts and bought something else. Then I beat a hasty retreat from that nasty shopping centre experience.

So that’s why I’m not really in the mood. I’m just having one of those lousy days… crap.

I realy wnated to be taking my family on holiday somewhere nice… hopping on a place and going somewhere great… but that’s not happening. I want to be able to buy Mike a present without him knowing exactly what it is… and I want to fly to Perth. I miss Em already and she’s only been gone 3 and a half hours.

So i’ll go now. Maybe I need to just meditate or something.

Have a Merry Christmas one and all… Vee

Log in to write a note
December 23, 2005

Must be annoyng mum day cos my mother is driving me batty She is doing nothing to help for christmas but still complaining that nothing is done. I said: well if you got up off yor lazy ass and did it then it would be done wouldn’t it mum? trust me that didn’t go down well. I can’t wait to live on my own so that I can just put down the phone and not have her nag at me anymore – sorry bout the rant

December 23, 2005

I’m not feeling festive either. Must be catching.

December 23, 2005

awww…poor Vee!!! i hope things look better for you tomorrow and on christmas!!!! ♥

December 23, 2005

RYN: i just find it to be such a pointless tradition. i just don’t understand why ppl find it important…LOL but if i did understand, i wouldn’t have asked the question, would i? i don’t think it’s lying…i just think it takes away from what the holiday is actually about. a lot of kids think it’s just that time of year when they get presents. depending on the child, it can be a shame.

December 23, 2005

oh you poor chook, Christmas stress is getting the better of u hey. :S YEah this note isn’t too functional, but it probably doesnt have to be. I hope you cheer up and start feeling jolly soon. It just doesnt feel like Christmas right now here..oh, and it’s pouring of rain on Christmas eve and our Christmas is completely focused on being outdoors.. :S

December 23, 2005

OH have a bacardi — or several — then it’ll feel like xmas eve LOL. Sounds like you had a truly BAD shopping experience. ((((((Big Hugs)))) That bacardi will help hehe 🙂 lol

December 23, 2005

here is a happy thought…. we will get to go shopping together next year!

Hey cheer up! Lol well i hope ur xmas spirit kicks in, and ur day gets better! 🙂 Merry christmas!

December 23, 2005

hehe, my and my best friend bought each other the same exact gift, hehe, and we guessed it before hand just never told each other. Sorry to hear about the bad day though, talk about rough lucky. RYN:Thank you for all the notes 😀

December 24, 2005

Awww…I miss you, too!!! I don’t know if you could tell, but I almost bawled when we said goodbye. I’m such a wussbag. But April will come very soon and we will party like it’s 1999. If it makes you feel any better, my flight sucked major arse and I almost spewed on several occasions. It was so bumpy and I haven’t slept and I’m not going out anymore because Kelly just wanted to drink at…

December 24, 2005

…home so I sent Vanessa a tect, but she didn’t reply and I can’t be arsed calling Charisma. I’m going to have a nice long sleep tonight. Oh and guess what?! I found that salsa today in Woolworths!!! I made my dad buy it and we did those chicken wrap things for dinner. Yummo!!! And Donna was a bit peeved that I didn’t get her a Melbourne soveigner. Ooops…

December 24, 2005

It’s this time of year – I liken it to one crappy day where you’re hungry, tired, have your period, AND forgot your bankcard at home with shatloads of groceries and a long line behind you. Only extended over a period of 4 – 6 weeks, with some facked up carols thrown in for good measure. Christmas is AWESOME. (can you tell I’m being Queen Scrooge atm? Bah and mothertrucking humbug!)

December 24, 2005

Oh wow! Crazy thing is lets say about a week ago I wanted it to be January. I was tired of bells, carols and all that mess. It passed so now the only think I hate about Christmas right now is how dumb some of the shoppers or….and drivers. Gees!!! That’s sucky about the movie :O( I plan on getting Henry a PSP and haven’t gotten it yet but in the back of my mind I’m praying he won’t buy it lol

December 24, 2005

But anywho, I’m still going to wish a Merry Christmas because that’s what I do; otay! :O) **huggles** RYN –> Oh yeah I changed my name a few days ago :O)

December 24, 2005

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!! RYN: My birthday is the 22nd of March and I am and Aries. so Basically Amy the Aries will be 22 on the 22nd. God I’m in a dumb mood sorry – xmas is getting to me!

December 25, 2005

I feel your pain…Sorry about your shopping disaster…

December 25, 2005

Frigging Christmas shopping and the rest, its all b*llsh*t.

I know its past but I totally related to all of the above. My xmas sucked majorly this yr. Nxt yr is gonna be diff. come whateva….