the diary of a thousand words…

or not.

Quick Edit: I just re-read this entry and realised I must have been absolutely pooped when I wrote it coz most of my darn sentences were backwards!

I was going to title this entry "why can’t I think of anything to write…" but figured I’d be giving the plot away farrrr too quickly. This way you actually open the entry up, go meh ‘she has nothing to write’ and disappear into the chasms of the randomness that OD brings to us addicts.

I was most disappointed to step on the scales of weight watchers last week to find that I didn’t lose a single gram… not an ounce, not a milligram, not a miliounce… or whateverer. Granted, I didn’t gain… but I sure didn’t shift those scales. Bah. I’m almost certain that the lack of movement (in the weight loss department) has everything to do with my lack of physical exercise, so what did I do? Buggered the doctor’s advice and went on a walk. Yep… I know, idiot… but hey, I felt ok (except for a pain in my ankle- well duh!) and it wasn’t too far… just to Tylah’s school and back. 20 minutes uphill there and 20 back downhill. I might even try that a few times since I didn’t feel like it was pushing me too much. The urge to see the scales decrease once again is far too great… that means I’m still a little motivated. The counting of points has gone to shit and I must must must try and keep doing that. I just find it so hard and so difficult to calculate. Why is that? Why can’t I work out what a portion is? Argh. So yeah, I’m a bit frustrated.

See. I have this dress. This lovely, hot pink number hanging in my wardrobe just BEGGING to be worn. I don’t fit into it though. doh. I was really hoping to fit into it by the time Perth came around, but I don’t know… we’ll see. By my tracker I should have lost at least 5 kgs by now. I haven’t so I’m not holding my hopes out for anything. I’ll just do my best and see how I go.

On other news, *k* popped over this morning and we sat around like 2 monkeys at a banana festival for the better part of the hour before going to Forest Hills to get her little eeny, tiny shorts adjusted (they were too big. Let’s all hear a collective sigh for *k* … "Awwwwwwww"). Anyway I was looking for a top or something nice to wear on Friday night but kept running into size problems… as we were walking out of Chain Reaction we see this pregnant woman and *k* makes some remark about tummy’s and I said if I stuck mine out enough I could probably pass for a 4 month pregnant chick (lmao) and she turned to me (and this is in all seriousness – all size 8 of her!!! – US size 4) and goes "Meeeee tooo!" Well I nearly choked on my own saliva I was laughing so hard and my point was only made stronger when she tried and her tummy stayed resolutely flat. Hmph… hehehe. But we had a laugh and I joked that I was gonna fire her as a friend coz I was so jealous. The day I can push my guts out and it doesn’t budge will be the day I am a very happy girly. lol

So anyway. It’s my birthday this Friday and Emmy-Lou’s on Thursday… the two Aquarian babies. Yay for us! I’m going to the Retro Cafe for dinner (on Brunswick Street) and out to Inck bar afterwards for a few drinkies! Should be fun!

Right now though I am off like a prawn in the sun to eat my icey pole.

Yummo

LONGER EDIT: I forgot to write about my Doctor calling me back! Yes, he actually followed through and I can’t tell you how impressed I am at his service and dedication, but also at how caring he is. Ok, so Dr R spoke with Dr B in great length about me. Apparently Dr B was extremely friendly and helpful (unlike his rather rude secretary that Dr R spoke with while I was in his office) and he told Dr R he knew exactly what we could do for now and it didn’t involve him taking my money. *Whoops* Ok, so the basic idea is that Dr B is sending me to his personal, best-of-the-best Podiatrist. My foot/feet will be xray, ultrasounded (again) and then a plaster mould will be made. Hopefully I can get some correct fitting orthotics. Should that fail, Dr B has a clinic that runs out of the Royal Melbourne Hospital (public!!! *sings the benefits of Medicare) and he said that despite conventional thoughts there actually IS (god help me) an operation to fix tendinitis… If all other treatments fail I will be seen there and surgery will be organised. Dr B acknowledged that for the issue to be going on for so long indicates that it really is a serious case that I have come down with (thank goodness it’s NOT just my imagination!!!!) and said that although surgery is the last resort, I will not be on the waiting list for a long time because I’m a nurse and I need to not be debilitated. The way Dr. R worded it was "you’re more important than some 80 year old with a bunion." Cool. So now I just need to see this Podiatrist dude and I can get the ball rolling!

Vee

 

Log in to write a note
February 8, 2006
February 8, 2006

I never understood the counting stuff! all that walking would create muscle and you’d gain weight, wouldn’t you?

February 8, 2006

I have the same prob, sighs, i feel like screaming when my skinny friends say they’re fat. How long are you in Perth for? How exciting. x

February 8, 2006

how tall are you? I’d never loose weight through weight watchers as I’d never be worried enough to count points. I should probably attempt some form of weight loss program right about now come to think of it. I’m sure you really care. 😛 Cant you find some form of exercise that wont put pressure or what have you on your tendonitis? Hope you’re doing well chook.

February 8, 2006

lol, everyone has friends like “K” dont they?

February 8, 2006

Screw the skinny b**ches everywhere! LOL I mean, the ones that are genetically small and can’t gain…. not the ones that try for it! 🙂 LOL

February 8, 2006

Well… I can stick my tummy out and look 9 months pregnant LOL… ok… maybe 8 1/2 months I so need to lose weight… BLEH

February 8, 2006

i bet you all…. i look 13 months pg and i dont have to bloat my tummy at all……………

February 8, 2006

Well at least u stayed the same! So thats good! 🙂 And well as for *k* and her remark, HAHA u gotta love it!! 🙂 And yay for the doc calling u back!

February 8, 2006

Yay birthday girl!!! happy birthday for tomorrow hun! xoxoxox

February 8, 2006

maybe you’ve gained muscle i love your doctor…he rocks

February 8, 2006

I dont know mate Weight Watchers always seemed so dodge to me with the numbers and the counting and the other stuff…okay so I lost like 12kgs with it but still! The weight will fall off very soon mark my word young lady and did I mention how impressed I am at the walk to get your little ankle bitter?? Sorry I’m going all Aussie slang on you now lol Thanks for your kind words you are a champion

February 9, 2006

So much that I wanted to say… so much that I forgot already! *Shakes head* Ok so yay about the doctor thing! Glad they decided you are more important then an 80 year old hehe Also, I have no sympathy for your *k* and her too big shorts. lol How lucky are you to not even have your stomach move when you try to stick it out?! There was more I as going to say but as I menioned, I forgot!

February 9, 2006

That is great news about the best of best Dr’s making sure you will be looked after.

What is it bout Feb. b’day’s? LoL We have 3 in our family. Mine is tom. 🙂

February 18, 2006

ok, I feel the need to point out here that usuallymu tummy does have a pot on it (I have had a baby, remember!) but for some reason it didn’t stick out at that exact moment! I am NOT one of those chicks who goes ‘oh I’m so fat’ when she is really pseido-anorexic! I’m NOT. Tell ’em, Vee.