Another month down

I can’t wait for this year to be over. It’s been horrible so far. And keeps getting worse.

I live in a suburb of Chicago and there has been a lot of protests in the city and even in suburbs. Some are peaceful but a lot of them aren’t. There’s been looting at malls, fires set and windows smashed in. They set a curfew in the downtown areas but it basically is being ignored. I am hearing sirens and popping sounds like fireworks but who knows? It’s kind of scary. I am staying home for now. I don’t want to get caught up in any protests because I don’t want to be near big crowds. The virus is still out there, it didn’t go away. So home I stay just like I have for 2 and a half months. I’m used to it at this point.

I’m really bored though. I know this is a good time to start thinking about what’s next for me. I want to start making plans. Eventually I would like to move. Probably to the southwest somewhere. So I have to figure that out. I am trying to pay off all my debts in the next few years so I might be able to get a mortgage for a small condo. I’m 62 and a half now so I am shooting for 65. I got 2 and a half years to get my act together. My daughter is welcome to come with me but if she wants to stay here, she’s on her own. By then she will be in her late 20s so it’s time for her to get independent. Either way I am fine with it.

I am going to start writing more. I have plenty of time now. I’ll be writing here more to get my juices flowing again. I used to write almost every day but I got lazy. So now I will have a lot of time to get back to it again. And I’m looking into maybe taking some online classes. That will keep me busy.

Welcome to the golden years! lol

TFR

Log in to write a note
June 1, 2020

I also live in the Chicago suburbs 🙂

June 6, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21 oh where at?

June 7, 2020

@offmychest Southwest Suburbs…. Oak Lawn

June 8, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21 cool. I’m in Aurora.

June 10, 2020

@offmychest Cool!  I have some friends out there.

June 1, 2020

It’s funny how we always talk about what we want to do next but it takes forever to get started.  Kinda like house work.