Glad to have SS money

I get my Social Security the second Wednesday of every month now so I just got it this week. I was down to $28.00 in my bank account so that was a relief. I just certified for my unemployment benefits today. Now I wait. So many people got laid off due to corona virus, the state has been swamped with applications. So it is taking longer than usual. I am not getting that much since I only worked part time but I will take whatever I can get at this juncture. Still waiting for my tax refund too. I think that’s going to take a long time. Once again I am worried about bills. I am hoping I can catch a break if I can’t pay them all. Especially my rent. I thought that getting my SS would take a lot of pressure off but here we are again. Oh well.

I am thinking about looking for another job when this is all over. I am done with doing massage. I can’t physically do it anymore. I discovered that now that I haven’t been doing it for about a month, I feel 10 times better. No more pain for the most part. No need to see the chiro either.  I feel that 16 years is enough. As much as I enjoy it, it’s time to move on. I use to work in insurance so maybe it’s time to go back. It’s boring as hell but it’s a paycheck. I could do medical billing from home so I don’t even have to go into an office which I like. So that’s a possibility. I only need to supplement my SS so I don’t need to work full time which is also great. You have to be careful how much income you have or it affects your benefits.

Another problem is that I have no savings. It’s all gone. I have had to live off of my retirement money for years now and it’s gone. So that’s not good. I have a plan to try and get out of debt in 2 years. Then I am going to need to buy a car and hopefully start saving again. I eventually want to retire so I need this to happen. So we will see.

Well that’s all the news right now.

TFR

Log in to write a note
April 9, 2020

Questions? Do you have anything that can be deferred till this virus is over?  Like rent, or hydro or taxes or phone? We do but not many are taking it right now…..