I’m officially retired

Well I’m retired. The spa is opening back up on Monday and I won’t be there. I am really happy right now. I don’t think I wanted to go back even before the pandemic occurred. This just made the choice easier.

I went back into the spa just to pick up a few things from my locker, some books of mine and some lotions and my business cards which I promptly threw away. Yes I am really done with massage. For good. My license is up for renewal at the end of this year and I won’t be renewing it, that will save me some money. Which I need to do right now. I am on a fixed income for now. I would like to do some side hustles for extra cash but that’s not ready to go yet. It will be soon, as my unemployment will probably end soon.  Other things I can save money on is to cancel my insurance for disability and liability so more money saved. And I do not have to take any more continuing ed classes so more money saved. My car insurance is also going way done since I told them I don’t drive much anymore, they put me on low mileage rates and no more comprehensive coverage. I just have very basic insurance now so much cheaper.Cancel my gym membership.  I have a snap card to pay for my food, and I will have to see what else I can get in way of benefits being a senior and all. So I should be OK. Not rich by any means but OK. Rent is the biggest issue, I am not sure if I can get help with my rent. And medical coverage, still don’t have any. I tried applying for Medicaid but got turned down, Now that I am officially retired, I can probably get it now because my income will go way down. We’ll see.

So my plans are to start writing my books. Great time to do it. And set up an online store for selling things. I am going to start selling CBD products and a few other things like maybe homemade soaps and other oils that are good to fight viruses etc. I am going to take an online course in that topic which I find very interesting. You can make your own soaps, hand sanitizers and other essential oil blends that are very good at killing things, like viruses, bacteria and also bugs and other pests but are all natural and safe for humans and pets.  No unpleasant side effects. Right now I am using a spray that I mix up that is great for killing bed bugs which has been an ongoing issue in my apartment. The thing about bedbugs is, they are very hard to kill off. You can have an exterminator come and spray poison in your house and it seems fine but three weeks later, the eggs hatch and it starts a new cycle. So you need to do your own extermination otherwise you can spend hundreds of dollars on it and it doesn’t work, they would have to come back at least 3 times and you can still get them again. And the chemicals they use are cancer causing. No thanks. I have gotten them under control but must remain vigilent, they can hide anywhere and come back very easily. And they bite you while you are sleeping ew.

I also have a design for a T shirt that I want to have made up and eventually sell online. More about that when it happens.

So I’ve got a few things to do now. I won’t be bored. I am really looking forward to this new phase of my life. I am officially a retired person. And a senior citizen. LOL

That’s it for now.

TFR

 

Log in to write a note
May 31, 2020

If I am not mistaken I think hot heat will kill the bed bugs.  My son and one of his roommates a few years ago had them and that is what they did was sweat them out.

June 1, 2020

@jaythesmartone hot heat does kill them but the problem is they are everywhere so if you don’t kill them all, they lay eggs and the process starts all over again.