Important phone call

Later today, the owner of the spa I work at is going to call everyone about the new reopening date. It might be June 15th now. She said we all have to go over new procedures before she reopens. Basically about the new pandemic rules as we reopen slowly. I’m not looking forward to it. Sooner or later I am going to have to tell the owner I’m not coming back. I feel badly about it but I have to put myself first here. It’s too much of a risk of exposure to the virus and I am NOT massaging people with a mask on. Or gloves. That’s just ridiculous.

Truth be told, if it was me, I would just cut my loses at this point. Even if she could reopen safely, how many people do you think would risk coming in to get a massage? Not many, I would think. Many people have either already cancelled their memberships or will soon. A massage is important but the risks are high. Any close contact is a risk. And the risk is not worth the reward in this case. So I would just close for good. I am glad I don’t have to make that decision.

Onto other things. Mother’s day was uneventful as you could imagine. My daughter shopped and cooked me dinner. Made her special enchiladas. Yum. My daughters also bought me flowers and sent me a tin of cookies, and also a bottle of wine and a gift card to Olive Garden, so that was nice. Oh and my other daughter got me some new pillows as my other ones were terrible. My new ones are nice and soft and my neck is feeling better already. The old ones felt like a bag of concrete lol. I would wake up with a stiff neck almost every morning. Better now. So that’s good.

I am continuing to get unemployment benefits for now with that extra $600 a week which is great. I know that will end soon but for now I am liking it. I also got a cost of living increase for my Social Security so I am making a bit more each month now. Also good. Now I have to start thinking about what I am going to do after I quit. I have a few ideas. Time to get organized. Good thing I have a lot of free time lol.

The weather continues to be bad. All it does is rain. There has been severe flooding in the Chicago area. All the rivers have risen and crested and are now flooding various neighborhoods. We didn’t get any flooding here because there aren’t any rivers or lakes close by so that’s good. I feel sorry for people who have had flooding. We had a flood many years ago in our neighborhood and it was the worst. 2 feet of water in the basement and the street in front of our house was a river. It was bad and what a nightmare cleaning it all up. I hope I never have to go through anything like that again. There were also tornadoes in the area so that’s another thing that happens this time of year. I am deathly afraid of tornadoes. Been through one once and that wasn’t even that bad but I was scared. I was driving through it and the debris was flying around. Like the Wizard of Oz. Very scary. Hope to avoid that situation again too.

Well that’s all for now. I will report back on how the phone call went.

TFR

Log in to write a note
May 19, 2020

I am really shocked that your boss is even considering opening…here we don’t have to we have the option of waiting and the government will still help us but I would be scared shitless to go to one of those places…even if the doctor told me to go I would say no.