Log in to write a note
April 4, 2018

Saw you on the front page, and I’m always curious about people’s sites so I went to take a look, and that’s a really pretty and professional looking site.   Clean look, very modern, and works well on phone and desktop.

I was trying to decide if I liked having the pricing in the lighter grey (because it made me not notice the numbers at first) when I found something that is curious to me.  On the desktop, when you mouse over the list of services, the one you’ve picked shrinks under the mouse pointer.

The other thing I was curious about so I looked at the source for half a second is that you don’t seem to have much in the way of screen-reader support, description for images and that kind of thing.  It’s an area I’ve only started to learn about so I don’t have much in the way of advice, and I don’t know if it represents many people in your community, but it could be worth looking into.

Last point, I’m sure you’ve gotten permission from your clients to use their names in the review but it was a little strange to me to see full names. And that may solely be because I’m used to seeing reviews from “Donald T” and “Vladimir P” so again, just pointing it out for your consideration, not saying it’s bad.

Anyway, that’s just some points that made me thoughtful.  The site is really good.

April 5, 2018

@serin  thanks for the feedback, I did note the light gray print and I told the web designer (my daughter’s BF) that I thought it needed to be darker so good call on that.  I am not sure what you mean by screen reader support (I am new to this as well). As for last names in the review those were only dummy reviews just for show. I have real ones going onto the page and they will only have last initials on them. But good catch there.

April 5, 2018

@offmychest The best practices stuff I see tends to push to try to support people who are visually impaired and using software to process their screen so they can use it, which are called screen readers because they literally read some or all of the screen out loud.

So there’s things like aria tags (Accessible Rich Internet Applications) and then older patterns like labeling images with Titles or Alt attributes.  All of which is supposed to make it easier for these kinds of tools interpret sites for the people who can’t experience them as visually as the primary design intends.

As I said, I’m mostly aware of it because there’s extra tags when I cut and paste sample code, so I’m trying to learn a little more about that and it was in my head as I looked.

Cheers

April 4, 2018

Awesome!  To bad you aren’t in Texas.

April 5, 2018

@mentaldysplasia thank you!

April 8, 2018

@offmychest

anytime

April 4, 2018

It’s very attractive and professional looking. I know a lot of kids these days judge a site by whether it scrolls.  But kids don’t need massages, do they?    I didn’t want to mess with the Calendy scheduler and make it look like you had a flood of appointments so I’m left wondering.  I didn’t see a way to login to it.  Does it eventually ask for an email address for confirmation?  If I book a 1:30pm appointment for 90 minutes does it automatically block out subsequent appointments for 2pm, 2:30pm and 3pm so nobody else can take them? Does it know you need a break between appointments?  Can people cancel their own appointments?  Can you cancel them?  What happens when that creep who didn’t pay you for Reiki training decides to go in and make a bunch of appointments for president@whitehouse.gov so that a) you get investigated by the Secret Service and b) nobody else can make an appointment until you clear them?

Speaking of young people, is there a mobile version or does it automatically respond to screen size and orientation?  I don’t ask for myself, but some people don’t have real computers and depend on wholly inadequate phones for web sites.  They don’t consider themselves handicapped–they just think there’s something wrong with a site if it’s hard for them to use.  I see enough complaints about new Open Diary that I haven’t even tried to use it from a mobile device.

April 9, 2018

@sleepygene Thanks for your feedback, the Calendy is not functional right now because I have to start paying for it but yes it does all the things you asked about.

The mobile version works fine on my iPhone 6, not sure about older phones or other brands but it seems to be ok.