Poverty meal

When I am really broke like I am today, I go to Burger King and get their 10 piece chicken nuggets with honey mustard sauce for $1.49 plus tax and use my change to get a can of Arizona ice tea for 99 cents plus tax. So for less than $3, I got a little meal. I do what I got to do.

I never know how much money I am going to have each week, it depends on how many appointments I have and what tips I get, so it’s hard to set a budget. I have been robbing Peter to pay Paul for years now. It’s getting old. For once I would like to not have to worry about paying my bills. Guess that will happen once I am dead.

Collecting SS will help because at least I will have a set amount coming in each month so I can plan better. But it’s still not enough so I have to keep working as long as I can do it. After that, who knows?

My credit cards have been settled so right now I have no credit. So I can’t buy my kids anything for Christmas. They already know this. I feel badly about it but what can I do? Unless I win the lottery, nothing much.

Basically,I am flat broke. I need to slowly climb out of the hole and try and make it work somehow. So much for the golden years.

TFR

Log in to write a note
December 7, 2019

Question?  Do you have something like the salvation army who gives toys to kids for Christmas or a food bank that will give you a basic Christmas dinner?  I have used both of these when my son was under 19 and it was a make or break holiday season for both of us…..

December 28, 2019

@jaythesmartone My kids treated me to Christmas brunch, and I bought them gift cards and a lottery ticket each. Nobody win though.

December 7, 2019

I will be working for many more years to come too although I am hoping once I receive my social security benefit I will only need to work part time.  Do you think that will be a possibility for you too?

December 28, 2019

@wildrose_2 Yes I will only be working part time from now on.