Still here, not going nowhere

The state of Illinois just extended their stay at home order for the month of May, so I am not going anywhere for another month except what’s absolutely necessary. And not much is really necessary except a trip to get groceries or take out food. So I’ll be on unemployment for at least another month. I don’t really mind actually. Not sure what will happen after that. I don’t think anyone knows yet.

I understand some states plan on reopening again, mostly in the South. I think they are nuts but whatever. I am far away from that mess.  Also the weather hasn’t been that great anyway. So not that anxious to be outside anyway. If the weather starts to improve, people may start to rebel and go outdoors more. I am just avoiding people in general. I can still go out and walk but now we need to wear masks if we go into a store or other location that’s necessary. I am ok with that too. I really don’t want to get sick if I can avoid it. The thing is the more I hear about the virus, the more I think I might have already had it last fall. I had most of the symptoms they spoke about including the losing the sense of smell and taste for about a week. This bug I had wasn’t like any cold I had in the past, it was different in many ways. So if I had it, my blood would show antibodies for the virus. They are not testing for blood antibodies right now but maybe in the future. So I may or not be immune, no way to know without being tested.

After the order is lifted, whenever that may be, I am not going back to my old job. I don’t want to have that much personal exposure at least until a vaccine is developed. So I have to start planning what’s next for me. I have a few ideas. I think it’s time for a change.

I’m not really bored. Except for not going to work, my life hasn’t changed that much. I don’t do much of anything anyway. So it seems pretty much the same. I’m sure a lot of other people are having a much harder time with this than I am. I feel badly for them.  But for me, things are OK. Getting a good amount of money right now between unemployment, SS and government stimulus. And my daughter is still working so we are OK for now. We will see what tomorrow brings. Hopefully better days are ahead.

Hope everyone is doing well

TFR

Log in to write a note
April 25, 2020

I think my daughter and I had the virus around December. Both of us got extremely sick.  I don’t get ill often but whatever it was that hit me, hit me like a ton of bricks. It took weeks to get over it. Same with my daughter. Hopefully, that means we have a little immunity built up, but in the meantime, I’m staying in for the most part. I’d rather be safe than sorry.  Take care and stay well.

April 25, 2020

Here we are self isolating for two more weeks but then that is all they can tell us till the two weeks is up and see how many new cases are still coming. They say here in Canada when there are no new cases for like 2 days in a row then we will talk about opening stuff up but not until then.

April 29, 2020

I figured out how to get bsck here!

April 30, 2020

@alexandra cool beans!