Update

I went to sign up for Social Security on Friday. I hope I can start collecting next month. I will be getting my own benefit and some additional benefits from my ex husband combined. I am pretty happy with the amount I am getting especially since I was out of the work force for many years when my kids were’ little. So I wasn’t paying into it for a while which hurt my benefit amount. With the addition of my ex’s ss I am able to get closer to what I would have earned anyway so that’s good. If you continue to work, you can only make $18,000 per year or you have to pay back some of your benefit so I have to keep my eye on that. It shouldn’t be a problem as I only work part time.

The only thing is they have to call my ex to confirm some things. I certainly hope he isn’t going to be a jerk about this. We’ve been divorced for 15 years, time to move on. She can’t file the application until he confirms so I need this to happen ASAP because I need that money soon, like to pay my rent next month. Hopefully this will take some of the money pressure off of me. My daughter has been helping me with some of the bills too so that’s good as well. I’m tired of struggling. I need some breathing room. This is hopefully the solution.

I am really happy right now. I have a few other things in the works. Like writing my book and some other things. I am hoping 2020 will be a very good year for me. I got plans. One of them is getting on a healthy food plan and getting back into the gym. I need to lose some weight. No crazy diets, just good, healthy food. And I need to get back in shape, I let my self go too much after being a gym rat for so many years. So I got to get back into the gym come the new year. I am determined.

So that’s what’s new from me.

TFR

Log in to write a note
December 23, 2019

Everything in moderation and don’t give up any food….I hope your ex will have the niceness to allow you to live the life you want…..

Hope you have a great holiday and everything starts to happen for you….and have fun…..

December 23, 2019

I surely hope 2020 brings a better year for you! Found you on Front page

January 3, 2020

I don’t want to be Debby Downer but SS is a bit slower than that! As I recall…I applied three months early so my payments would start on my birth month. Best of luck.