When the going gets tough…

The tough go shopping, haha not really.

It’s been a tough last year. I lost my job just over a year ago. Went on unemployment for 26 weeks then it ran out. I decided to start my own business. It is not doing as well as I had hoped. I am hitting a ton of roadblocks. I am having trouble marketing which I admit is my weak spot. I guess I just don’t know how to sell myself. Nothing I do seems to be working right now.

But I am going to keep at it. If I don’t do it now, then when? I am 60 years old so it has to happen now. No more waiting.

So I just keep on going.

Paying my bills has become a night mare. Why do the months go by so fast? No sooner do I pay all my bills then it seems like I have to start paying them again. I have more bills then money right now. It’s getting old to say the least. But I just keep on going.

What else can I do? I suppose I could get a part time job for now til my business picks up but I really am not motivated at all. I gotta do what I gotta do I guess. Not happy about it though.

Also I need to move soon. I can’t afford this apartment anymore. Gotta find a cheaper place but the rents around here are so ridiculous. Hopefully I can find one that takes pets too because a lot of them don’t or you have to pay a ridiculous security deposit if you have a pet, like $500. It’s a 10 year declawed cat, she’s not going to do any damage. My daughter will be devastated if we have to give the cat away, she loved her.

So that’s my story, hope it gets better soon

TFR

 

Log in to write a note
May 2, 2018

You are lucky in the sense that you were able to collect unemployment for 26 weeks. In my state of Florida, you only get 12 weeks and the rate is so 1950s, you might as well not bother collecting. I don’t know where you live, but most states do offer career counseling which is free through unemployment agencies. And if you go to AARP website, they offer tips and sites for “older workers” to gain employment.

May 2, 2018

Hope things do get better, it sounds like you’ve got the drive, which is the most important part 🙂

May 2, 2018

I hope that things get better for you.