Sometimes I feel like a ghost

Sometimes I feel like a ghost. It’s almost impossible to describe. I feel unimportant and small. I feel discarded and shoved aside. I feel like I used to matter but I don’t anymore.

I guess maybe it has to do with a sort of ego death? I’m not even sure what that means, but… my life used to be very exciting. Every night was a new adventure. Every month a new party in a new city, VIP backstage all the time. Doing bumps with celebrities. Now I just sit at home every day. No one comes over. I have no family. I’ve stopped speaking to my abusive mother and my sisters have chosen not to speak to me as a result. It’s more complicated than that, but…

yeah, I don’t know. I can’t tell if I’m really sad about it or if I’ve just never had downtime before. I mean, it’s not really downtime. Every moment is taken up by the baby… yeah it’s just really hard to describe. But sometimes I just feel like a ghost.

Log in to write a note
March 1, 2023

I see you. And your journey.  It sounds like you’re really examining your life.  You may just need to regroup for a bit before you figure out what you want to do about this feeling… be kind and gentle with yourself…. know that you will figure it out.

I have a similar situation- with no family (my mom was also abusive and my siblings have cut me out of their lives)  and my life drastically changing where I am home most of the time now,  outside of leaving to go to work or stuff for my kids.  I have learned to love it,  the smallness…I imagine once they are teens,  I will hunger for adventures again… but for now,  I’m happy where I am in my own life.   Never thought I would be.