Hello Again. It’s been… nearly 11 years.

And a lot has changed. I’ve changed.

When I received the email to re-activate my old Open Diary entries, I have to admit I was a bit torn. Experience has taught me that I will always look back on my younger years and cringe at old-me. And I’m not wrong. Heck, I could even look at my 32 year-old self (I’m 33 now) and shake my head. “Why did I do that?!” I will ask myself. Well, hindsight is 20/20 (HA! 2020, get it?! Shush, Toni 🙄).

So I’ve made the executive decision to leave my old entries as-is. In a way it’s kind of refreshing* to see how much I’ve changed whilst also reading about things I had long forgotten about. I’m systematically shuffling them into a chapter we’ll just call “Before”.

Because I really do feel like a whole lot as changed. My last entry was in April, 2009. Some 5 months after that I lost one of the closest and dearest friends I’ve ever had, my dad. I may touch upon this later but I had to do a lot of growing up after that. I moved out of my childhood home, strained a few friendships and family relationships (though some of that is not entirely my own fault), studied in technical college, attended and dropped out of university and then somehow ended up across the other side of the Earth. I’ve made some major lifestyle changes as well but we’ll save that for another time.

So, where does 2020 see me? I know it’s not looking good in the general scheme of things (I can only imagine what other people’s diaries are looking like these days; I’ve yet to browse!) Well here I am in London, still going to work (essential worker, yo), still cracking inappropriate jokes and trying to make the best of things. Because that’s all we can do, really. Take prudent precautions, sure. But don’t let it drag you down to its level. Life, I’m talking about Life. I know all-too-well how hard it can kick you in the nether-regions.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. A certain tropical island on a certain Nintendo console is calling my name.

Ciao!

-Toni

*If you can look past the spelling and grammar mistakes, constant complaining, and the cringe-worthy l33t speech *shudders*  

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2020

LOVE that graphic, welcome back! I’m assuming the tropical island is Animal Crossing? 🙂

March 30, 2020

@thediarymaster Indeed it is! It comes as a nice little escape from the current climate! ~
Thanks for re-activating the site btw! It’s a blast from the past, for sure.

March 30, 2020

Thanks for the note, and welcome back!

March 31, 2020

I feel the same about reading my old diary, so much of it is cringe worthy! I really want to get animal crossing, are you enjoying it?

April 1, 2020

@nitrojane It’s really fun if you like having your own little island with animal villagers and stuff like that. Have you played any of the older games? 🙂

April 1, 2020

@omgninja yes! I played it on my Nintendo ds years ago. I want to buy a swotch but they’re all sold out here in Australia unfortunately, so I’m gonna have to wait. Plus the money for one really should be going to my dental bills, haha.

April 2, 2020

@nitrojane Oh dang! I hope they get them in stock soon! Ugh, dental bills. Hope you’re doing okay. I had to get my wisdom teeth taken out back in Sydney years ago and it cost a mini-fortune. V_V

April 2, 2020

@omgninja yeah, teeth are super expensive tbh! We will see how long it takes the switch to be back in stock, hopefully not that long!