Bipolar Disorder & Lithium

So I have Bipolar Disorder. I have been on lithium since January 2011. It changed my life. I began to function again.

However, the lithium has terrible side effects. It’s toxic to the kidneys, it makes me super dehydrated, and I have problems with frequent urination, exhaustion, and weight gain. I’m currently on 450mg daily.

The weird thing about it is that I just did a lithium level and my level was 0.2. A therapeutic level is considered 0.6 or higher. My level has been low for a few years. So I can’t help but wonder if I could go off it. I want to find a new psychiatrist and discuss my options. Does anyone on here know anything about bipolar disorder and lithium? Why do you think my levels are that low?

Log in to write a note
June 16, 2021

My psych prescribed me Lithium and I puffed up like the Stay Puft Marshmallow man. I was peeing all the time, and I was gaining weight, so he took me off it. I hope you find the right drug. 🙂 Bipolar isn’t fun.

June 16, 2021

Hey just random blogger. Hope you dont mind me asking? My roommate just started on Lithium Carbonate and she didnt understand the Carbonate part? Me either? I was on lithium before but didnt understand what shes on. Shes drinks like mad water all the time but she just just started on lithium. Let me know?

Im glad that you’re getting back to functioning. Depression isnt a joke. The only thing I know is there is a BIpolar 1 and 2 . Ive never been diagnosed with it but Ive been diagnosed with mood swings. Ill have to check. I found a good psychiatrist and you just reminded me to call. Have a good day!!

June 24, 2021

@justholli1972 Carbonate just has to do with the formula. It has a certain amount of carbonic acid and has the formula CO32 

June 16, 2021

I wish I could give you some insight. I was on lithium and got accused of not taking it, even though my husband swore to my psych that I was taking it as directed… and I was. My levels showed nothing. It’s a rarity, but there are people like us who don’t show the lithium level and that can be dangerous. Plus, the thyroid tumors and such weren’t an appealing prospect either.

June 24, 2021

@caria The thing that is odd is that I don’t feel badly, even with the low levels. I haven’t had any thyroid tumors or anything but I don’t want to stay on this much longer.

June 18, 2021

I don’t know much about it other than my brother-in-law is on it, and his diagnosis also changed his life. He’s super focused, and built a company from the ground up, and is a good dad to my niece and nephew. I do know that he has to get enough sleep, that his doctor says it’s a disorder that is related to sleep in a way. I also know he recently lost a ton of weight by getting on a low carb diet, but those are not my style, as I’m recovering from an eating disorder and restrictions only hurt me. Sorry, I don’t know anything about the levels.

June 24, 2021

@free_spirit_gal It changed my life too. I went from being unsble to function at all to having a stable long term relationship and working while maintaining a 3.95 GPA in college. It took years to get there but I worked really hard. Thank you anyway!

June 24, 2021

@omgroxie I’m so glad you get to live a better life now! 🙂