20 Year Old Anger

When my ex-husband committed suicide, just three months after our divorce was final, I immediately felt guilty.  Well-meaning people told me that it wasn’t my fault, and I told them that I knew that, but I still believed that if we hadn’t split up, he’d still be alive.

I can’t recall ever talking about Dave without prefacing it with “he was a good man, he just wasn’t a very good husband.”  Or I’d explain how we were just young and dumb and neither of us had ever really known an example of a healthy marriage.  Etc., etc., always defending him.

Since I resurrected this account, I have shared my whole history of relationships, up to and including my current, and God willing, final relationship.  If you’ve followed along, you would know that I have had a long history of relationships that went bad for obvious reasons.

The reasons that my marriage went bad were not quite as obvious to me.  Aside from the frustrated rants I could share with my friend, Wendy, who was going through her own divorce, I could not articulate to other people exactly why I was unhappy.  I couldn’t even explain it to Dave.  All I could bring myself to say was, “I just don’t want to be married anymore.”

I met Dave when I was 15, and my home life was pretty much a disaster.  My parents were abusing drugs and alcohol, and some of their drug addict friends were permitted to abuse my siblings and myself in a myriad of ways.  We began officially dating on my 17th birthday, and married one month after I graduated high school.  I was divorced at 26.

We never had a chance!

Now, at 48, I’m nearly four years into a relationship with a man whose story isn’t a whole lot different than mine.  Despite all that I’d gone through, rushing into relationships that would ultimately damage me further, I knew with absolute certainty within a week or so of meeting him that I wanted to be married to him.  That actually slipped out of my mouth in a moment of passion, and I felt like I needed to staple my mouth closed!

Drew treats me so well, I feel like I can never express my gratitude.  There are so many tiny little details that he pays attention to and it boggles my mind to know that there are men like this in the world.  It makes me wonder how any woman could have let him get away.

The other thing it does, though, is make me angrier than I have ever been.  I had no idea that someone could love me enough to want to take care of me.  When I had my stroke and no one was sure if I’d survive, much less be anything more than a drooling mess, Drew was making plans to bring his adult daughter out here so that he could bring me home and they could feed me, change me, and basically take care of me as if I was a giant infant.  He wasn’t just willing to do that, he needed and wanted to.

When I was married, if I needed to go to the doctor, Dave would get angry and yell about what it would cost.  If I went a few cents over the $5 he had budgeted for gas for my car, he would get angry and yell.  If I put a cassette back in its case without rewinding to side 1 and side 1 facing out, he would get angry and yell at me.  When I was rear-ended, injured, and my car was pretty damaged, he got angry and yelled at me.

Yet, when he and his friend knocked a shelf off the wall sending a set of precious figurines that my mom would buy special for my birthday cakes every year crashing to the ground and busting into pieces, they made a joke of it.  I didn’t get angry.  It just hurt my feelings, but I kept that to myself.   When I got off work at 6 PM, and Dave was two or three hours late picking me up while I sat at a cold, rainy bus stop, he’d laugh at my anger, as if he thought it was cute.  It hurt.  We spent almost every single weekend at his Dad’s house.  When I’d suggest that we go visit my family, he’d ask how long we had to stay.

I think that being with a man who actually treats me like a precious treasure has opened my eyes to the realization that I was a prop in Dave’s life.  He had very clear ideas of what a man was supposed to be, and one of those things was that he had a nice, virtuous wife.  The 15 year old virgin he met fit that role.  The problem was that after he pushed me to have sex before I was ready, he still wanted me to behave like that virginal teenager.  In the nine years that we were having sex, I was not allowed to suggest anything or he would get angry.

I was a prop in the performance of his life.  I look back now, and realize that every critical moment in our life together was a performance.  I’m not sure who the audience was.  I think it was him.  I know that I was not entertained.

So now I’m finding myself reliving those 9 or so years with him and I have so much anger.  How can a man who’s been dead for 20 years still cause me so much grief?  Who am I still trying to convince that I had every right to feel the way I did?

And why do I feel like a bad person for maligning his memory?  They are my memories and my feelings were and are just as real.

I just want to live my life.

Log in to write a note
April 7, 2019

I think you are still grieving over Dave.  I think maybe it’s time for Drew to hear what you have said here and maybe he can come up with something from a male perspective?

April 7, 2019

@jaythesmartone, Drew knows all of these things.  We talk about our pasts often.  He never said it before, but now that I’ve developed this anger, he told me that he’s never understand why I would always say that he’s a good man.
We were at Walmart a couple of weeks ago, and I saw an elephant lamp that diffuses scented oil.  I love elephants, and Drew knows it.  So when I began fawning over it, he picked it up and put it in the basket.  He said, “I don’t know why your exes didn’t give you everything you ask for.  You hardly ask for anything.”
I said, “Well, aside from Dave, most of them didn’t have jobs, and depended on me to take care of them.”
Drew said, “That’s what I mean.  They should have worked their asses off to take care of you.”  💝💝💝

April 7, 2019

@oniongirl  now he is defiantly a keeper…it doesn’t take much for us to be happy with what our men do for us…..My guy is always doing things for me…and when I ask for something 9 times out of 10 I get it or he does it for me.  I know we are both lucky.

April 7, 2019

@jaythesmartone definitely.  💝💝

April 7, 2019

I’m sorry to hear that you went through all of these things as Dave’s wife. I agree that you probably are still grieving over him, and anger accompanies at least part of that grief.

April 7, 2019

@justamillennial, I don’t think I’m grieving over the loss of him, as much as I’m grieving to realize what it is to have someone want to protect and provide for me.  I’ve never had that.  Ever.  Not even with my parents.

April 7, 2019

I’m so sorry you feel this way.it sucks when something keeps haunting you for a long time. I hope this is the last phase before you finally move on.

April 7, 2019

@theconfusedgirl Thank you.  Me too.  💝

April 7, 2019

You’re not maligning him Dave by telling your truth. Nor are your feelings of anger over what you experienced wrong or unjustified. Guilt over a situation that isn’t one’s fault is common, but that does not make you a bad person. You had nothing to do with Dave’s decision to take his own life; clearly, he had mental issues that no one could solve. And even though a lot of time has elapsed, some wounds or tribulations still stick with us. That does NOT mean you’re doing anything wrong by feeling what you feel and remembering the truth of your relationship with Dave. I’m glad you have found happiness with Drew and that your relationship with him is healthy and happy. I hope that you find a measure of closure and peace as you work through your feelings and trauma from your time with Dave.

April 7, 2019

@jazzmaniac, Thanks for your comment.  I think part of the reason this is so frustrating for me at this point, is that I thought I had found peace with it and moved past.  I had regular counseling sessions from the time he committed suicide in 1998, up to when we left California in 2016.  I continued to go because it helped me to process an abusive childhood and my own self loathing.  By the time we left California, I felt like I was finally a healthy person.

So this upsurge of anger surprises me more than anything.

April 7, 2019

Honestly it takes time to see and actually digest it all. It’s hard to heal up after abuse like that. PTSD doesn’t just go away. Cut yourself some slack and allow yourself to feel what you feel… good and bad. It (he) was part of your life and in some odd way he helped you find Drew… FANTASTIC! YOU WIN!!! (DINGDINGDING CONFETTI FLIES) It was awful but look where you landed!

April 7, 2019

@snarkle Thank you!  💝💝💝💝