20 Years Later

October 19, 1998, was, quite possibly, the worst day of my life.  David Don Current, the man I’d married at the age of 18, and whose controlling behavior I had endured for 10 years, had been a downward spiral since I told him I wanted out.  He had been out drinking, which he had never done when he and I were together.  On his way home, he encountered a railroad crossing and saw a train coming.  He exited his vehicle and laid down on the tracks.  He was 31.

It took me years of therapy, journaling, and sharing this story to finally get to a place in which I no longer blame myself.

I don’t think he’d have liked the woman I am at 47 as much as he thought he loved the woman I was at 18 when he married me.  Truthfully, however, I don’t think I’d have become this woman if I’d stayed married to him.

This woman is passionate about things that matter.  This woman expects to be treated with respect.  This woman has a sense of adventure and the guts to pursue it.  This woman stands up for those she loves and what she believes in.


My mother is speaking to me again.  She told me that she didn’t know I’ve called at least five times and left as many messages.  She didn’t explain the unanswered FB messages or why she stopped playing Words with Friends with me.  I didn’t ask her to explain.  I’m just glad that we’re past it.


I’ve been pretty sick with a case of YUCK and was diagnosed with a urinary tract infection.  This morning the Dr. Office called to tell me that the specimen I gave grew Strep B, so they have to change my antibiotic.  She also told me that my kidney function is down, so I’m supposed to drink a lot of water.  I drink a lot of water, already, so I’m not sure that any more will fix anything.


In other news, Teri is dying.  You may remember stories of Teri and Bill, Bill being the bane of my adolescence with his inappropriate comments and touching.  He died several years ago, and the only thing I felt then was pissed off, because I hadn’t been told until after the funeral, which meant that I couldn’t CHOOSE not to go.

Teri holds pretty much the same place in my heart as Bill.  She was hateful and abusive, and when I tried to shrug off Bill, she defended him as “just being nice.”  Every physical brawl I had to protect my siblings from, she was there and encouraging it.  It was she who supplied my parents with Meth, and I see her as an absolute demon.  I wish I had a picture of her, so you could see that she’d actually make a very good demon.  (I just found this picture of her which I cropped out of a family picture.  It’s a sample).

When my mom told me Teri was dying, I literally felt nothing.  I thought I should say that I was sorry, but I’m not.  It’s not very Christian of me, but I hope it’s a painful death and that she dies alone.


This is not my best work, but it’s honest, so I’m going to close for now.  Happy Friday!

Log in to write a note
October 19, 2018

I guess it all depends what lind of relationship we had with these people.  I know when my second or third cousin died I was okat with it because he was playing golf so he was doing something he really loved.  And when my grandparents died it was really different I still miss them even though it’s been more then 10 years.  Whe my BIL dies I will feel nothing and the same goes for his girlfriend.

kat
October 19, 2018

I understand your feeling of hate towards them. but at times it heals us to just let it go…and it might take their death to do that

October 19, 2018

She looks inbred. I am glad she will be vacating your world soon. Let’s hope it happens sooner than she expects.

October 19, 2018

@snarkle she may well have been.  Thanks.

October 20, 2018

I don’t blame you for being so hateful of Terri. As you know, death hurts, when it’s someone that you care about though.

I’m sorry about the anniversary of what 10/19 stands for, but I’m glad that you left David, because it allowed you to become the best version of yourself.

Thats great that your mom is speaking to you again.

October 21, 2018

I cannot even imagine how you dealt with all of that. None of it is your fault. Abuse is never ok; often, abusive people have deep trauma and reasons why they are abusive – it sucks, and I hope everyone finds a way to heal, but it is still not ok, and you do not have to be nice about someone who has hurt you. <3

*tx
October 22, 2018

Honesty is the thing that keeps us most at peace with ourselves. It can keep us in a healing space.